The middle of a messy house

I’m laying back typing on a loveseat that’s in the middle of my dining room. I acquired this new sofa one month before I’m moving out of my house.

The decision to move was prompted by the person who sold me the loveseat.

She’s given up her business and is travelling around the world. That got me thinking about what I want to do with my life.

I’m a professional organizer – I encourage my clients to delete the word someday from their lives. There are three ways people block moving forward with that one word:

  • But I might need it someday: hoarding too many things, stuff we don’t need, but that comfort us, make us feel safe and secure when really all they do is clutter our space and our thoughts.
  • Oh, I’ll get around to it someday: not living out dreams, or procrastinating about actions because there’s always something else that needs to get done right now.
  • Someday my ship will come in: waiting for the universe to provide an answer to our dreams without ever making any effort to craft a reality out of those dreams.

When speaking with my friend who was giving up everything to travel, I realized that I’ve had my own someday.

I’m a writer – I’ve been writing since I was 12 years old. I decided at that age that someday I was going to live in the south of France and write. Then I shelved the dream and got on with living.

At almost 37 that someday has come. I realized that as an organizer, how can I counsel people on getting rid of their own somedays if I was holding on to my own?

So, I’ve sold my home, am getting rid of most of what I own and I’m moving to France in less than 6 weeks.

This blog is a chronicle of that experience. The posts are going to be sporadic at first, written when I have a moment during the packing process. Once I’m in France the posts will become more formal, adhering to specific Someday Syndrome topics. I will explore aspects of Someday Syndrome, relating them to my life in France, my life here in Toronto, and how people can do little things to heal themselves of Someday Syndrome.

I hope you enjoy the blog and comments will always be welcome!

5 thoughts on “The middle of a messy house

  1. Mokhles says:

    I hope I can express my self about all what you are saying, just to say I feel it and I go with every word to a real world with full of meaning and dreams at the same time.
    I am thinking as I am waiting to meet you to see who you are…behind all these words not only characters we read but a full of ideal feeling that’s we need today.

  2. Brenda says:

    Just found you through another blog, “The Happiness Project”. Love what I’ve read so far and can’t wait to be gettin’ on with my own dreams, shelving the “someday” instead. Thanks for being here, full of encouragement!

  3. Alex Fayle says:

    Welcome Brenda! Thanks for the comments. I’m glad you are enjoying the blog. I look forward to seeing more of your thoughts/responses.

    Cheers,
    Alex

  4. Missy says:

    Congratulations for putting the wheels in order for your ‘someday’ to become a reality! I’m in the process of doing the same thing myself – selling 90% of the stuff in my house, then flipping my house for a profit, getting out of debt then taking off… I want to retro fit a small rv motor home with my art studio in it and drive around the country. My time line is definitely longer than yours (I have a lot of stuff) but I’m still doing it. In fact, I talked with someone yesterday about hiring an assistant part time to speed up the process – I can’t wait to see who calls about it… I’ll be reading your blog and keeping up to date on your journey!

  5. Alex Fayle says:

    I think that is an awesome idea Missy. Totally free to live where you want to, and taking your home with you.

    Good luck! And make sure you keep the rest of us posted on your progress here.

    Cheers,
    Alex

Comments are closed.

