Random Relations

So, tonight I went over to my cousins’ for a drink. Her parents were there and we got to talking about genealogy. My dad had sent some pictures of connected family. I explained who each person was.

In looking at the family tree carefully, I discovered that my cousin isn’t my fourth cousin, but my fourth cousin once removed. For those who don’t understand what that means:

  1. My cousin and my sibling’s children are fifth cousins
  2. My cousin’s father and I are fourth cousins
  3. My dad and my cousin’s grandmother are third cousins
  4. My grandfather and my cousin’s great-grandfather were second cousins
  5. My great-grandfather and my cousin’s great-great-grandfather were first cousins
  6. My great-great-grandfather and my cousin’s great-great-great-grandmother were siblings.

So in other words, we’re not really related. If you traced the number of people who have the same relationship genetically that my cousin and I have, you’d probably have over a thousand people or something.

And yet this woman welcomed me into her home, helped me get settled, and has provided me with a family here. All because six generations back, two people were siblings.

This to me exemplifies the idea of seeing the best in the world. Based on this tenuous connection, we’ve created a strong bond that is stronger than much genetically-closer relationships.

Of course, what made this all possible was a common interest in family history. Both families talk about our common ancestors like they were recently dead, not a hundred years or more gone. In this world where the hurts and feuds of generations gone past lead to war, it’s good to know that there is a positive side to family history.

Someday Lessons:

  1. When deciding what to keep and what to give away, don’t sever your connections to your ancestors – they are a part of you.
  2. Seeing the best means also being willing to take a risk based on intuition and trust.

Lunch Today:
Tomato & Walnut Soup

2 thoughts on “Random Relations

  1. Jacki says:

    What is Family?
    I lived for the first 25 years of my life in the same area of the country that all my genetic family lived in. My most distant family members lived about 1 hour away. Then, I married a military man (infantry, to be precise).
    After that, I was lucky to live in the same province as ANY of my genetic family. However, I am closer to more military families than my genetic family. We share a common history; our husbands are gone for up to 6 months at a time, we are uprooted at a moments notice and plunked into a city in which we have never lived before, maybe not even speaking the same language as the locals. We know much of the civilian population has no idea of what we go through. But we all know what it is like and therefore will “pay it forward” with kindness. I define family as an interdependant group of people.
    Appuyons nos troupes! Support our troups!
    Jacki

  2. Nada Thomson says:

    What a rich blessing it is to have so many amazing connections – whether blood family or friend family. They truly are what make our lives worth remembering:)

Comments are closed.

