Those Who Can’t Do, Teach

That’s so true for me. I make a living telling other people how simplify their schedules, how to make balanced decisions about actions and choices. But I can’t do it for myself. In my seminars, I tell audiences about how I use an organizer when I need to make decisions, because my reasons behind choices and actions are not simple.

Take this week. I was productive, but feeling off-centre. I spent the first few days of the week alone, recovering from my sinus infection. This made me feel lonely, which put me in a place I first started going to as a teen ā€“ my non-existent space. When I spend too much time alone I get bouts of non-existence, which disconnect me from the world. I feel outside of everything.

This outsiderness is great for writing. This week I came up with and started a new (fiction) book idea. It’s not so good for my ability to interact with others, however. During these bouts, I feel I need to be with people, but when I’m with people I feel like I’m intruding, no matter how open and receptive people are.

I wouldn’t want to lose this sensation because it is creatively fruitful, but it is hard on the emotions. I recognize it when it comes, so I wait until it passes, resisting the urge to throw myself at people in a clingy neurotic way, but not totally isolating myself either.

I knew coming to France that I’d feel lonely and experience bouts of non-existence. I’m just glad that they held off until I was well-settled here, otherwise I might have fled.

Someday Lessons:

  • Simple decisions are often the hardest to make; don’t complicate them ā€“ get help.
  • Be aware of why you act certain ways. It’ll help you avoid repeating unproductive actions.

Lunch Today:
Kamut Crepe Quesadillas

2 thoughts on “Those Who Can’t Do, Teach

  1. Sara says:

    Hi Sandy – I am of the opposite mind about teaching. Having spent 10 years practicing my craft as a researcher and an Historian, I now feel prepared and motivated to relocate myself to a classroom where I can inspire others to be as excited about History as I am. Hopefully I won’t deluge my students with run-on sentences like the one I just wrote…

    Cheers (having a glass of red wine and thinking about you)!

    Sara

  2. Lisa says:

    Hi Alex,

    I have no idea who coined this term or under what situation but what I can see from my hockey team coach, I think it takes quite the expertise to teach. It’s a huge job that requires a lot of thought, discipline and understanding of the dynamics of what is going on.

    Keep up the work you’re doing. It takes courage to voice your thoughts and receive feedback that is supportive, harsh or otherwise.

    Lisa

Comments are closed.

