Never the Same Twice

Every day I wake up changed from the day before. "The river I step in is not the river I stand in." Each day I have new experiences, learn new things, and my body chemistry alters slightly.

Today for example, I have a bug or virus in my system that makes me different from two days ago. I’m achy, shaky and weak. This changes who I am. I had to cancel an organizing job because of it. Two days ago if you had asked me, would I cancel this client I would have said "no way." Today as soon as I woke up the answer was "hell ya!" (but said with a moan, a groan and in a whimper).

I am also a different person from two days ago because I cut my hair off. The Alex with short spiky is not the Alex of the long tresses. The way people perceive me has changed and therefore the way I interact with the world has changed.

So what? Why does this matter?

On Monday, one of my daily lessons was about how decisions might need to change based on a change in circumstances. France has been all about big changes for me. Having been presented with this organizing opportunity, I discovered that I have no interest in doing it. (Maybe I’m sick because I wished myself ill to avoid work today). I no longer think of myself as an organizer. I am a writer. This is who I am now. Some might say that I’ve always been a writer, which is true, but the self-definition is essential.

I’ve already learned to live with the fear of poverty – as an entrepreneur I faced that daily. With this blog, I’m learning the fear of acceptance – finding an audience (or not) for my words. I can see my life unfold as a writer as a reality, not just a "someday."

Someday Lessons:

  • Be self-aware. Don’t live life blind to who you are.
  • Know that we all change minute to minute. Don’t ignore or fight the changes.

Lunch Today:
Quinoa cooked in pasta sauce with fresh grated parmesan.

