Happy Yet?

Really, it all comes down to happiness.

I’ve been reading Gretchen Rubin’s Happiness Project and I’ve realized that it’s all about happiness.

Happiness is the cure for Someday Syndrome: answer the question ‘What will make me happy ?’ then acting on it.

Happiness isn’t masturbatory feel-good gratification. Happiness is a deep satisfaction with life and a strong sense of self-worth. (Anyone else remember the 1970s Happiness Is… series of products? A little naked man and woman?)

Choosing to be happy is actually quite terrifying. Imagine leading a satisfied life. I mean really deeply satisfied. Pretty scary, eh? I’ve never been more afraid in my life than I am right now. I am pursuing happiness and it scares the crap out of me. Why? Because having exactly what you want takes guts to declare and even more to achieve.

Every time you say ‘Someday’ you delay happiness. You also deny happiness. I’m amazed at the number of people (myself included) who know what will make them happy and yet refuse to pursue it.

I was surfing the web and came across my biography for a writing group I used to belong to back in the mid-90s. My first line was :

Alex refuses to suffer for his art, so has to fit it in around work and social life.

Ten years later, I finally acknowledged that the suffering lay in NOT pursuing my art.

I’ve known that I’ve wanted to be a writer for 25 years. That’s a lot of unhappiness, self-imposed. How long have you been denying your own happiness ?

Well stop it. Right now.

Pursue happiness.

Someday Lessons:

  • Happiness is terrifying.
  • Don’t hide from happiness; embrace it.
3 thoughts on “Happy Yet?

  1. Hey, it’s Gretchen from the Happiness Project! I was so pleased to find out that you’ve found my blog useful. And I’m very pleased to have found your site–obviously we have many interests in common. I’m off now to add you to my blogroll. I will follow your adventures with interest — be happy.

  2. Alex Fayle says:

    Thanks for visiting Gretchen. And thanks for the blog roll addition. I need to add one of those for myself here.

    “Be happy” – simple command, but difficult execution, eh?

  3. […] The tagline for Someday Syndrome is Procrastination. Choice. Happiness. It means with to achieve happiness, you need to stop procrastinating about your life and you do that by making choices. I made this realization about 5 months into blogging with this post: Happy Yet? […]

Comments are closed.

