A Life Created

My writing affects my mood. Two weeks ago I broke up my main character from her boyfriend. I knew since starting the book that I was going to do this, and yet when I actually came to writing it, I had tears in my eyes.

Then last week I continued to tear apart her life and I felt that my own life was falling apart. I felt sad and found myself reacting a bit neurotically to things.

Tomorrow I leave for two weeks in Spain where I’ll be pruning olive and almond trees on an organic farm. Today I made the main character of my novel do something truly spontaneous for the first time in her life. Before writing these scenes, I was feeling nervous about the next two weeks. After writing them, I felt enthused and as excited as my main character.

And it’s not just writers that have the skill of creating a life and making it real. Anyone can. You can.

Coaches and motivational speakers talk about this all the time – creating a vision. If you can imagine the life you want, getting it will easy. Of course, as my experiences with my book’s main character show, if you focus on negative images, negative emotions come up which produce unhealthy reactions.

Your life might be good, but if you focus on the little bits of negativity, your whole like suffers. Focus on the positive things and your whole life shines.

Someday Lessons:

  • Before creating it in reality, you have to create the life you want in your mind.
  • Even a little bit of negativity can discolour a whole lot of good feelings.
5 thoughts on “A Life Created

  1. Elaine says:

    Have fun in Spain – I look forward to the posts.

    El

  2. rebecca says:

    Hear, hear Alex (or is that “here, here”?!)
    I totally agree with you and shall try and adopt suggested approach to my job hunting too. Have a fantastic time in Spain xxx

  3. Alex Fayle says:

    The word geek in me went looking and discovered it is “Hear hear” a contraction of Hear him! Hear him! used in the British parliament in the 18th century.

    http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/178100.html

    And thanks for the well wishes. I’m sure I’ll have lots to blog about!

  4. Lisa says:

    Thumbs up! *clapping*

    But, there are real and sad issues. If we don’t open up to those feelings, we may never try to solve them if we don’t feel them.

    Any thoughts?

    I’m thinking we need a little balance, understanding the manifestation of good from good thoughts and some good emotional management skills too. Yes?

  5. Alex Fayle says:

    Yes, I agree completely – life throws up good and bad experiences. I’m not a psychologist, but I believe that sadness, anger and other emotions that result from bad experiences aren’t unhealthy emotions.

    We need to feel them to be able to process what’s happened and move on.

    It becomes a problem when we get stuck in the sadness or anger. They are paths, not destinations.

Comments are closed.

