A Ticking Clock

A bomb counting down, which the hero stops with one second to spare…

Wasting time doing something you hate when so much else needs doing…

Lying awake at night worrying about all your unfinished tasks…

There are no positive images associated with a ticking clock. Time is the enemy. We struggle to get more done in less time. Clients used to ask me how to be more productive. Friends and family working in the corporate world regularly work more than the once standard nine-to-five workday. And new small business owners often do fifty to sixty hours just to survive.

And yet, no one gets enough done.

Of course many corporate employees can’t complain about the work hours. There’s always someone else ready to step in, likely for less money. And if small businesses want to become profitable, the high hours are necessary.

Sounds pretty hopeless, eh?

We need to adopt a new time attitude, create positive images of a ticking clock. Instead of trying to be more productive in less time, we need to focus on taking enough time to do things well.

But the business world is too often more interested in deadlines than quality (see the latest problems with Microsoft’s Windows’ update Vista). And unless we experience some sort of time revolution on a personal or societal scale, the ticking clock will always be our enemy.

Someday Lessons:

  • Stop fighting the clock. It’s always going to win.
  • Make a conscious decision for quality over quantity.
8 thoughts on “A Ticking Clock

  1. Re: Windows Vista
    Once you go Mac, you never go back!

    Hey, all the schools are closed here today!
    Happy Snow Day!
    J

  2. Lisa says:

    Yes, I remember your comments about single tasking too! Goes hand in hand.

    And, I’ll put in a vote for Linux taking a greater place on the world scene. It’s a stunning example of collaborative effort by the meek.

  3. rebecca says:

    Funnily enough, ticking clocks remind me of my childhood home, of feeling snug in bed and hearing the clock in the hall way chime, in much the same way as I used to find comfort in my parents voices wafting up the stairway or the background sound of the nine o’clock news.
    It always has a positive image for me, partially because of this, and perhaps also because my mother has always said how it comforts her, reminding her of her own childhood too.
    I think time passing is a wonderful thing if you are enjoying every minute of your life 🙂

  4. Alex Fayle says:

    Jacki: Snow day for you and a day on the beach for me – both relaxing in their own ways.

    Lisa: I’ve heard so much about Linux for over a decade – maybe on my next computer I’ll finally switch over.

    Rebecca: Thank you for those two positive images, comfort in the sound and a recognition of enjoyment.

    Anyone else with positive images of a ticking clock?

  5. Elizabeth Fayle says:

    Well, it has always made me chuckle to think that our law-abiding parents own that schizophrenic ‘hot’ clock.

    Elizabeth

  6. rebecca says:

    the schizophrenic ‘hot’ clock.?
    I HAVE to know the story behind that one 😉

  7. Alex Fayle says:

    I’m going to have to let Elizabeth tell this story as I don’t remember it properly…

  8. Elizabeth Fayle says:

    Once upon a time, my parents provided room and board to ‘street kids’. Some very interesting articles used to show up in our house without explanation. All of them were shipped out post haste. For some reason, however, a mantle clock of dubious origin remained with my parents. Hence the ‘hot’. Schizophrenic because there is something wrong with the mechanism and instead of giving off a slow and stately bong to indicate the hour, it sends out a rapid and high pitched ping-ping-ping-ping-ping.

Comments are closed.

