Is My Life an Empty Beach?

The blue sky cuts to green as the ocean takes over. White surf interrupts the ocean and eventually gives way to the golden beach. Some people enjoy the sun and cool breeze but otherwise the beach is as empty as the ocean and sky.

There are no cluttered groups of sunbathers. Nothing unnecessary fills the space. I sit on my towel soaking up the vitamin D. I’ve streamlined my life so well that the world arranges itself in a decluttered fashion for me.

Honestly? I’m a bit lonely.

The beach reminds me of my life. I’m alone but have couples and families nearby, surrounding me at a natural distance.

Yes, I’m happy, but I worry. Am I creating too much space in my life? Is my life becoming an empty beach?

I’m anxious to leave Sauveterre, not because I want to break away from my friends. In fact, I’m going to miss them a lot. I just want to start this life of too much space, of chosen loneliness. A solitary nomadic existence means no immediate support network. It’s the life of an observer. Could it be a writer’s natural way of life? Or is it going too far into an extreme? I am fascinated and terrified by this plan to explore loneliness.

And I wonder: Just how much is too much?

Someday Lessons:

  • Sometimes you need to push beyond your limits to discover where they are exactly.
  • How much space exists between you and the rest of the world?
5 thoughts on “Is My Life an Empty Beach?

  1. Monica Ricci says:

    There is a difference between being lonely and being alone. I am often alone, but rarely lonely. As for your adventures, Alex, sometimes the soul craves a little empty space to be able to sort things out clearly. Nothing wrong with that. šŸ™‚
    ~Monica

  2. Amy Mowbray says:

    Awww. I’ll be your friend.
    I actually love being alone. I enjoy the quietness and I can get things done. I think there’s a huge difference in being lonely and being alone. I’ve met several people that have the attitude of “I have enough friends, I don’t need anymore.” I believe those are the type of snotty people that will eventually become lonely.

  3. Alex Fayle says:

    For most of my life, I have often chosen loneliness. There are things I could do to be alone, but not lonely, and yet I purposefully chose the action that will heighten loneliness.

    Which, as an existentialist, only makes sense, I guess… http://www.parkridgecenter.org/Page437.html

  4. John Maxwell says:

    A controlled life. Standing on a pristine beach, with a cloudless sky and beautifully perfect ocean water. Nothing changes. It is wonderful stagnation.

    In a life where you keep everyone at a distance, you have complete control and an unchanging environment. Unless you want to stay solitary you need to let other people in – that means that the pristine beach becomes crowded, it might rain, and it might even get stormy. You have to decide if you are willing to experience life as it really is.

    A writer honestly should be exposed to a changing life. Stories are about change and adventure. Let change into your life; give up some of your amazing control. You’ll have a lot more fun!

  5. Alex Fayle says:

    Give up control?!? What are you nuts? {grin}

    Actually, this whole experience is about giving up control and diving into many different lives. And creating great adventures for myself.

    Change is fun (especially when I decide on the change – but that’s part of the whole control thing I’m working on…).

Comments are closed.

