Essential Things Do Not Exist

As I approach giving up my apartment, I realize that nothing I own is essential. Everything is based on choices I make.

The first choice I make every day is to keep living. If I didn’t plan on living then nothing I owned would be necessary. So the choice I have to make is if I want to live.

The answer is a resounding yes, so then I must make choices about eating the living because food and shelter are the basic requirements to life. Working for room and board covers those two without actually having to own anything.

Great! What next?

Do I want to rely on others or public transit to get around? No, then I need to keep my car (good thing since I just bought it!). But it’s not essential; it’s just easier. I could get around without a car, but it would take longer and expect a lot from others.

Are you beginning to get the picture?

Even when others depend on you, you are making a choice to support them. Have kids? You want to keep them? Then there are certain things you need to own to support having kids. But those things aren’t essential.

We make things necessary by our choices, but nothing is inherently essential. Things become necessary only as we shape our lives.

Someday Lessons:

  • Everything we own, we own because of a choice we made.
  • Clutter happens when we collect things due to unconscious choices.
