A Well Ordered Ruin

I spent yesterday organizing a ruin. That’s what the family calls it: The Ruin. It’s the one building in the row that doesn’t have windows and still has its original boxwood branch room (now covered with tiles). It’s really not a ruin, but a large space for building supplies.

When I started, I thought I was going to throw out most of it. You could barely move around in the space. Plus, the homeowner had admitted that she throws very little out because she is sure she’ll need everything someday.

At the end, however, the garbage pile was very small. Once everything had been sorted, most of it proved to be useful. And once I organized it all back into the space, the store room has plenty of room and could take more storage if necessary.

Given how far away from the dump we are and that we would have to transport it ourselves, having little to throw out is a good thing.

Someday Lessons:

  • If you have enough space, you can keep things that you might need someday.
  • Keep things for future needs sorted or you won’t be able to find them when you do want to use them.
4 thoughts on “A Well Ordered Ruin

  1. When I moved to an apartment after living in a house my whole life, I was dismayed to discover what a packrat I was, because my stuff was well-organized, and I’d always had the space to keep it.

  2. Alex Fayle says:

    That is the downside of being well-organized, isn’t it?

  3. thanks for the “someday lessons” but in my house i always see to it that things are being put in the proper places…if they are not i would make a place for them…

  4. Alex Fayle says:

    Glad to hear it.

Comments are closed.

