The History of Alex

Like Canada, I have too much geography and not enough history.

Last night I was out for dinner with three men who were 40, 48 and close to 60. They ended up showing me old photos. I enjoyed being invited into the personal histories of each of these men. I talked about my own experiences, but I missed not being able to share my own visual history.

Mywall
While I was building a wall today (see picture), I thought about my pictures. I’ve never been a photo person (learned from my parents who don’t take many photos), plus I’m the youngest in the family, so I actually have very few photos of me. And of course, I have none of them here.

I’ve decided therefore that when I am back in Toronto, I am going to track down photos of myself from childhood to now and put them up on the blog. That way, when I come back to Spain and France in the winter, I can mix a bit of history in with all this geography.

Of course, being the vain guy I am, all the photos I choose will either be good ones, or funny ones. But the fat pictures do not go up. Well maybe, if only as comparison.

Someday Lessons:

  • Our stuff tells our history, which is why it’s so easy to hold onto everything.
  • Don’t stew over things you can’t change right away. Figure out a plan then let go of the worry.

P.S. The photo is of a rock wall I built at the farm I am working on.

5 thoughts on “The History of Alex

  1. Elaine says:

    hee hee hee…boy could I add to some of that history! I have some of the good ones of you, but I do have a few of the ones you probably don’t want….but then again, I’d better be careful, it’s not like there are no bad ones of me mixed in there either.

    Having said that if I could add a photo here, I’d put the one of you, me and Ann Marie covered in mud – I think we’re somewhere between 6-8 years old. You’re so cute looking covered in mud šŸ™‚

  2. I’m lucky… for my 50th birthday (please pretend to be shocked) my dad scanned photos of me as well as friends and other family members taken throughout my life and gave them to me on a CD. But no, I will not be posting them on my blog! šŸ™‚

  3. Amy Mowbray says:

    I’m really lucky in this department. My grandmother kept a scrapbook for me. It included pictures of me from the time I was born all the way until marriage. When I got married she gave it to me. Now that I’m an adult I find that I’m always behind the camera and not in too many pictures.

  4. Alex Fayle says:

    Elaine: you (being a picture person) are on the top of my list for tracking down old photos of me. I’m sure you also have some very embarrassing ones of me as a Goth Teen.

    Janet: I am shocked. I can’t believe that! You are certainly younger. My sister did something similar for Xmas for me, putting all her recent family photos on a CD and mailing it to me in France.

    Amy: I see the scrapbooking gene runs in the family, eh? And what an awesome wedding gift!

  5. […] The History of Alex: All my traveling around started to take its toll on my and I was beginning to miss my stuff, especially photos from my past. […]

Comments are closed.

