Eliminating Possibilities

Vizcaya (Biscay in English) in the Pais Vasco (Spain’s Basque Country) is gorgeous. The western Pyrénées drop down here to mere hills, still steep and frequent enough to block views of more than a few hundred metres. The villages isolate themselves in valleys and bays. Hamlets and individual houses scatter themselves along the twisty roads.

The construction that has invaded Catalonia and La Rioja extends here too. Building cranes poke above the skyline in every village and town. Spain prospers and shows it through internal expansion.

Unlike the south coast, however, green dominates the eye. Trees, grass, brambles and gardens all display various shades of green. If I painted, I could spend years visually describing the grey and white of villages sitting in their green landscape.

I don’t want green. I grew up with green.

I want stark. I want the green overpowered by hot shades of grey, gold and brown.

I want a sun so intense I can’t breathe at midday.

I’m glad I’ve come, but in four weeks time, I’ll be glad to leave.

Someday Lessons:

  • Knowing what you want comes from learning what you don’t want.
  • Appreciate every experience, even if it isn’t perfect.
4 thoughts on “Eliminating Possibilities

  1. Teresa says:

    You should appreciate every moment of you life. Even if its negative or you make a mistake. And mistakes are so precious because you learn from them!

    Teresa

    P.s I have my own blog finally and put my first two pictures on ebay!

  2. Your description reminded me of taking European tourists through Eastern Ontario. They were so amazed at the scenery. All I could see was bush and swamp both of which are infested with horseflies and mosquitoes.
    I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

  3. Alex Fayle says:

    I never make mistakes! I simply have interesting learning experiences. {grin}

    Congrats on the blog and the eBay posting – good luck!

  4. Teresa says:

    Thank you!
    Hey, mistakes are for losers ;P

Comments are closed.

