Universe has last laugh

Well, I for one am happy that Alex has removed the Life Lessons.  That seriously takes the pressure off of me, because I have every intention on continuing to post writings to this blog, and coming up with lessons was quite challenging.  I mean, I write for fun and personal amusement.  Coming up with lessons was work!

Who knew when I started these postings just a mere six weeks ago, that I would go from being single and overwhelmed to ‘coupled up’ and content?  The Universe really does have a sense of humour.  I got fed up with online dating, went to remove my profile, and there was a smile from some guy whose by-line was ‘Nice guys really do exist’.   Damn, I thought, now I have to read his profile. Turns out it was well written, with no spelling or grammatical errors. Damn, I thought, now I have to respond. So I sent him an email. But I was still cranky so I told him he had to answer three questions. 1.  Do you really have time to date?  2.  Sex first or friends first? 3.  Are you really interested in me, or do you just want to talk about yourself?  That ought to scare him off, I thought.

Nope.  He replied with a superlative (his word) email, saying he liked my candour and intellect. Then he proceeded to answer my questions fully and well.  Mind you, he changed his response for question 2 to whether he believed in sex on the first date, which is not what I asked. Okay, so he is a guy.  Damn, I thought, now I have to chat with him.  Which I did….for over an hour….and then an hour the next day…and the next. Damn, I thought, now I have to meet him. Which I did.  And that was the beginning of the end. I went from deciding not to date, to head over heels for this man.

The really interesting thing is that early on in our chats, he asked me for my 5, 10 and 15 year plans for my life. Where did I see myself in those time frames? Doing what? And with whom?  I provided him with a superlative answer, if I do say so myself.  He said in his dating experience, he has never had a woman actually have an answer to those questions!  Ladies!  I have to ask, why not?  Are we so overwhelmed that we can’t think beyond tomorrow?  Is it fear of the unknown?  Are we too cynical to even bother creating a plan for ourselves?  I’m curious; please let me know your thoughts.  As for me, I am contentedly working on my first 5 year block, developing a solid relationship with a wonderful man.

Urban Panther

5 thoughts on “Universe has last laugh

  1. Janet says:

    I’ve never been good at long range planning – if someone asked me for my 5, 10 and 15 year plans, I would probably run away screaming!

  2. I guess I have always been an organizer. I answered all the questions above (1,2,&3) as well as answered on my 5, 10 and 15 year plans on a BLIND DATE! You might be wondering how that worked out. We’ve been together 17 years, married almost 16 years, and have 2 really cool kids.
    It helps that he is really handsome in uniform too!

  3. Alex Fayle says:

    I used to love that type of planning and other than having a big picture plan (that I have 19 more years to become an established writer), I’m not planning further than a few months.

    It’s very freeing, actually!

  4. Alex Fayle says:

    That doesn’t sound like you at all Jacki . I mean, aren’t you the type the flies by the seat of her pants in everything you do?

Comments are closed.

