Toronto Tourist

I didn’t need a reminder that Toronto isn’t my city any longer, but I got one last night anyway.

My parents dropped me off at the subway after a great week with them, my sister and one of her kids in Maine. Although I had a fantastic time, I was looking forward to getting back to the city.

But it’s the Labour Day weekend. No one else is in town.

So I went out on my own, figuring I would see people I knew.

Wrong.

I recognized a few faces, but didn’t know anyone. In just a year, Torontonians have become as unknown to me as the residents in any city I’ve visited.

2 thoughts on “Toronto Tourist

  1. Hey Alex,
    One thing I have learned about the nomadic army life is that you can’t live backwards. Those that don’t move keep living their lives in the same old predictable way and when you move on, the space that you left gets filled by other things and people.
    Sometimes when you go back, some people will make every effort to make a place for you in their life. Those are your real friends; the rest are just acquaintances.
    The benefit of moving and coming back are that you have a gauge to see how much you’ve grown and how much you’ve changed. Chances are if you tried to fit back into your former life, it would be two sizes too small.
    Celebrate who you are now and how much you’ve accomplished!

  2. Alex Fayle says:

    Jacki, you are so right about the size of my former life. It would feel very confining to try to fit back into it.

Comments are closed.

