Worries & Whines

Worry One: Apartment Hunting
Apartments in San Sebastian are EXPENSIVE. Plus, landlords want to know that their tenants are solvent, which means proving that you have a stable job. Raul can do that. I can’t. Will that screw up our chances of finding a place?

Worry Two: Finding a Job
If finding an apartment means finding a job first, then maybe I should be looking for December and get something that is in the afternoons so that I can continue classes in the mornings. It will mean little sleep for a bit and no time for myself, but earning a living is kinda important. But will anyone hire me?

Whine One: The New Flat
UGH! It’s a 70s affair, with heat in only the bathroom and kitchen. There’s also: a fridge that doesn’t really chill things, a shower that is so weak it doesn’t rinse the soap from my hair, and a mattress so soft I’m going to have to do like 1000 crunches a day just to keep my back from going out. And what am I paying for this lovely arrangement? The equivalent of abut $600 CDN a month. Lovely.

Whine Two: Ruining the Food Regime
This weekend I ate and drank, and ate and drank. I ate plenty of things that cause me pain (wheat/sugar) and drank beer and wine (which are also pain inducing). So this morning I’m achy, cranky and really not wanting to go to school (or do anything really).

At least things are good with Raul and I’m doing really well with my Spanish.

Someday Lessons:

  • Life sucks for everyone sometimes. Today is my turn.
  • A good wallow is a lot of fun.
4 thoughts on “Worries & Whines

  1. I don’t want to interfere with your whinefest and I do enjoy having them myself but… If you can’t have ice cream that is SERIOUS and something must be done. The little apartment size freezers are inexpensive and students are always selling them on craig’s list. I have a little one to supplement my frig and I use it for my 8 flavors of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream.

  2. Alex Fayle says:

    I’m not a big ice cream person – for me it’s potato chips and fries. Actually mix potatoes, oil (or butter) and salt in any combination and I can indulge myself (and my whinefest) for hours.

  3. Shane Percy says:

    Don’t fret Alex! The universe will sort things out 🙂

    Oh and by the way- I understand your gripes about European appliances. The fridges are never REALLY cold, and the dryers aren’t the ‘industrial size’ monsters that get our clothes here in North America so fluffy and hot.

    At my cousin’s place in London, the water pressure was a
    trickle. First thing I did when i got back to Toronto was
    have a nice shower. God, i missed it. Sometimes it’s the
    little things, eh? But it’ll get better!!!

  4. Alex Fayle says:

    Thanks for the reminder Shane! I sometimes forget to stick with an attitude of abundance. I decided last night to welcome what the universe has to offer, and to stop worrying.

    Cheers,
    Alex

Comments are closed.

