All Spanish All the Time

Today Raúl changes languages. No more English. I’ve asked him to switch to Spanish only.

Things are going to get annoying for both of us, but I expect especially for him. When I don’t understand, he’ll have to speak more slowly and think about another way to say something. If it were me, I’d just want to say it in English and get my meaning across.

This past weekend when we were talking about what to do, he pointed out that we’ll have a lot more options when I can understand more Spanish. Right now we’re limited to doing things that don’t require a lot of comprehension on my part. Even going out with friends can be a bit boring for me as they talk slowly for about one and a half sentences then zoom! Off they go.

There is no end to my appreciation of Raúl. He is so generous to curtail his own social life a bit so that I’m not left bored or feeling abandoned. I have made it clear that if he needs outings where he’s not worrying about me, then he should take them, definitely! I know I would.

Tomorrow will be the real test of this change to English. We’re not getting together today. I just hope it’s not too frustrating for either of us!

Someday Lessons:

  • Difficult and/or annoying changes often need to be implemented if you want to achieve your goals.
  • The easy way is not always the best way.
2 thoughts on “All Spanish All the Time

  1. Nada Thomson says:

    I know this is the right thing to do, Alex, complete submersion! The biggest and best way to thank him for his patience is for you to pursue every other avenue of learning to speak Spanish so this frustration is a short lived as possible. If I could do it (remembering my time in the Dominican Republic), then so can you! La buena suerte a usted!!

  2. Alex Fayle says:

    I always forget about your time in the DR. I keep reminding myself that just because I’m learning to speak the language very quickly, it doesn’t mean that I have to have the same level of understanding. With accents, slang, distractions, it’s going to take me a lot longer to understand what people are saying, but it will come. IT WILL COME (he insists!) Hee hee hee

Comments are closed.

