Losing My Language

I speak English all day long. I read English. I write in English.

Raul speaks too quickly in Spanish and has troubles speaking slowly, so he speaks to me in English.

I insist, however, on speaking in Spanish to him, but I’ve noticed that I’m losing my comprehension skills, which were never that high to begin with. I can still speak it okay, but I don’t hear enough Spanish to feel comfortable with it. I know that it takes a long time to understand a language, but I’ve made it harder for myself with all this English around me.

Raul’s mother gave me some Spanish workbooks. I’m going to start reviewing them, especially listening to the CDs that accompany them. Hopefully that will stop some of the language erosion.

Someday Lessons:

  • Skills are learned once – they need to be practiced.
  • Life may try to interfere with goals – make sure that doesn’t happen.
2 thoughts on “Losing My Language

  1. I spent yesterday writing my own organizing newsletter in both French and English then translated POC Talk. There are days, like yesterday when I can’t figure out what language in which to speak or even think. Consequently, my mind goes blank and I can’t think of words in EITHER language. Throw two bilingual kids into the mix and it’s a wonder I can function at all!
    Take it slow and don’t be too hard on yourself Alex. All of a sudden you will realize you comprehend stuff without even having to think about it.

  2. Would it help to listen to Spanish radio? When I was studying French, they encouraged us to watch the news in French on TV, since it was easier to understand than a show with actors and dialogue.

Comments are closed.

