Creative Play

One of the writing sites that I belong to (FM Writers) is celebrating its 10th anniversary. It’s a primarily fantasy writer site and so as part of its celebrations the moderators have announced a shared world project. Shared worlds were very popular in the late 80s early 90s with Thieves’ World and Liavek.

Someone else created the first draft of the map for this shared world and I spent this morning reading in detail the “encyclopedia” for the world. I then edited the map based on what I’d read.

I have always wanted to contribute to a project like this and so I was thrilled when they announced it. One of the best parts of this project is that it doesn’t matter if it gets published. For me, It’s an exercise in expanding my writing and collaboration skills.

Plus it’s a whole lot of fun!

Someday Lessons:

  • Just because something feels like procrastination, it doesn’t mean you’re not being productive.
  • Having fun and playing is one of the best ways to learn new skills.
