I Wish I Could Vote

Today I venture somewhere I’ve never been in this blog – politics.

Spanish national elections happen this Sunday. Last night was the second televised debate between the leaders of the two largest parties. Now I’m itching to vote, but I can’t. I’m not a Spanish national, so I’m not allowed to vote.

When (and who knows that will be) the Conservative government is brought down in Canada, I’ll be able to vote long-distance. Unfortunately it seems like the Liberals under Dion have become total wimps, unwilling to do their job as Opposition and battle the Conservatives over their scary (ie right wing) agenda.

Far too many people don’t vote and since right now I don’t have the opportunity to do so, I’m telling everyone I know here that they should vote next Sunday. If I get an apathetic response, I keep at them. In fact, I’m about ready to take reluctant voters by the hand and lead them to the polling station.

Someday Lessons:

  • Actions become much more important when you are denied the ability to do them.
  • Take a moment to reflect on what really makes you passionate? What do you do to pass on that passion to others?
