A Recipe for Meditation

I used to dread doing dishes. I would let them pile up for more than a week until I had nothing clean. Even then I would only wash what I needed and then put the dirty dishes back in the pile. Ask any of my old roommates and they’ll answer quickly and vocally how bad I was a dishes.

Now, however, each day I look forward to washing the dishes. We don’t use that many each day, so I wash everything once a day. I do so after lunch before I leave for teaching. While I wash the dishes, I don’t think about anything at all. In other words, I meditate while my hands stay busy with the glasses, plates, cutlery and pots.

Someday Lessons:

  • Something you hate doing can become something you love, simply by changing how you look at it.
  • Meditation doesn’t have to happen on a matter chanting Buddhist phrases. It can happen anywhere you want it to.
4 thoughts on “A Recipe for Meditation

  1. Alison says:

    That’s funny. I was just talking about dishes with my sister the other day and why they are so difficult to get done. I reminisced about your ability to use every pot in the house and leave them to soak for days. 😉 Don’t worry, I’m guilty too.

  2. Sandie says:

    That is a fantastic idea…I will try it this evening as I tackle the sink (and counters) full of dishes.

    BTW – I love your blog. You’re writing is funny and easy to read…which makes this my first stop on the blogroll. Thanks!

  3. This is exactly how I feel about vacuuming (2000 sq ft!).

  4. Jonszi says:

    Meditation or flatline?

Comments are closed.

