Active Laziness

When I first arrived in France for my sabbatical, I often felt guilty if I wasn’t productive. I didn’t let the guilt consume me or even push me to work; I simply did my best to ignore it. In doing so, I learned that I really like doing nothing and arranged my life so that doing nothing is an option pretty much whenever I want.

Like today for example. Other than teaching two English classes and puttering around the house, I napped, uploaded photos to Facebook, and napped some more.

Tomorrow I’ll be productive again, if I feel like it.

Someday Lessons:

  • Figure out what you really want and arrange your life accordingly.
  • Don’t let societal norms and the word "should" make you feel guilty.
One thought on “Active Laziness

  1. Nada Thomson says:

    I tend to feel a combination of joy and concern when I find that I have no clients booked for the morning or afternoon of a day. I do a quick scan of my to-do list to see what I ‘should’ be doing…but then I almost invariably pop a movie in and plant myself in front of it – hehe – yes, relaxing well is an artform that I have become quite proficient at!

Comments are closed.

