Taking the non-Plastic Plunge

I spent most of the day thinking about abandoning plastic – thanks for all the comments for a great day of productive procrastination! I’m definitely going to start making yoghurt, especially yoghurt cheese. I also read an article on fresh (tap) versus canned (bottled) water, so I’ve decided to go back to tap water, only drinking the bottled stuff when it’s rained really hard and they’ve added more chlorine to the water.

I’m not sure, however, that I’ll implement taking my containers to the butcher. And why not? Because it’s different and no one else does it.

Say what?!? Alex embarrassed by being different? (Can you feel the chill of hell freezing over?)

I usually shop at the supermarket because I can pick my meat and vegetables I want without having to talk to anyone. Perfectionist-Alex won’t let me talk when I’m out in stores because since I can’t communicate well, I won’t communicate at all.

Completely idiotic, I know. And now that I’ve written it down, I’m totally going to start buying my meat and veggies from local market stores. And yes, I’ll talk to people and I might even take my own containers.

Someday Lessons:

  • Telling others your reason for (not) doing something is often enough to prompt a change.
  • Don’t let your perfectionist self take over – you’ll never get anything done!
2 thoughts on “Taking the non-Plastic Plunge

  1. Hey Alex,
    I know chlorine in the water is bad (I live in Montreal) and this is one trick that I’ve learned (grâce à Google).
    If you pour a big jug of water from the tap and leave the lid (partially) off for a day or so, the chlorine evaporates and it tastes much better.

  2. Beth Terry says:

    Bravo! As someone said (can’t remember who) “Don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good.” Do what you can. Let go of perfectionism. I know, I know. That’s way easier said than done. But it sounds like you’re making a great start!

Comments are closed.

