Crafting a New Reality

(Part 3 in my desire to make a profound and lasting change in my life)

I’ve mentioned before (a couple of times) how discussing my goals can derail achieving them. With my current goal – to pay more attention to details in my writing – I have another challenge. Unfortunately, this goal is a bit abstract. It’s not like saying "I want to eat more vegetables." That one is measurable. A new reality for this goal might look like: "I will eat two servings of fruits or vegetables with each meal." I can picture that outcome; it’s concrete.

But how will I know when I’ve achieved my current goal? Yesterday when describing the problem, I said that that I’m a big picture or small detail type, nowhere in between. The obvious goal would be finding the balance, of holding the big picture in my mind while examining the details, however I  have no idea how to measure that.

Not having ever experienced this state of balance before, I’m turning to you for help – how will I know I’ve achieved this goal when it’s not directly measurable?

Someday Lessons:

  • Admit when you don’t something and ask for help.
  • Trial and error sometimes is the only way to figure out a workable solution to a problem.

Using today’s trial and error method. Here’s a go at crafting a new reality for my goal…


Goal:
finding a balance between the big picture and the small details in my writing.


Possible realities:

  • For each story/novel, I will create an organizational chart starting
    with the central idea, then breaking it out into sections, chapters and
    scenes, including all subplots and interweaving themes.
  • For each story/novel, I will create diagrams that show the relationship between each piece of the story.
  • Or more generally, for each story/novel, I will use a tool of some sort
    to visually represent all the parts of the story/novel, from the
    central idea, to plot points, subplots, themes and individual scenes.

Tomorrow…
living the new reality.

2 thoughts on “Crafting a New Reality

  1. Possible realities…zzzzzzzz…sorry, we are cut from the same cloth. I just want to jump in and write. So, um, ya, good luck with that. 🙂

  2. Marc Juneau says:

    this post here semmed like the most applicable to what I wrote after I wrote it but I found your blog by your comments on the Happiness Project blog:

    “When we can destroy our egos, we live happily without having to say things except with love and in explanation.”

    Now this sounds like highfalutin self help talk but it is soooo true! There are several texts that I have read that speak to this exact same theory, check out “Anatomy of the spirit” by Carolyn Myss and “A Course in Miracles” and “The Power of Right Now” all of these talk about somewhat the same idea that there is the self, and the ego. The ego always presents itself first and is always heard as it is loudest, but the self is your true being without judgment or pretense. Many people never hear this voice within them, they have become too used to listening to their ego all their lives. Your true “being” or your “self” is simply put as thought based in the present without judgment. I think we can all live happier lives if we can learn to hear our “self” and our ego and then react. The ego has place as it is part of us it was put there for a reason but we cannot let it control us, it is a balance of ego and self that will allow us to, Become the Observer!

    So… while speaking on happiness it made me think of my own philosophy and I wanted to share. I read this book in the 8th grade long ago and this philosophy has brought me much joy ever since. this is my approach to happiness 😉

    In the beginning of Voltaire’s Candide, Candide is portrayed in this manner:

    “Candide, amazed, terrified, confounded, astonished, all bloody, and trembling from head to foot, said to himself, “If this is the best of all possible worlds, what are the others?”

    This response is in quote of his teacher Dr. Pangloss who in the beginning of the novel is attempting to teach young Candide that no matter what happens it is “The best of all possible worlds” to make a long story short (you should really read it though, its great!) In the final lines, Candide has forgone the highfalutin ideal of everything working for the best in the best of all possible worlds in favor of a much more modest and realistically applicable approach:

    “Excellently observed,” answered Candide; “but let us cultivate our garden.”

    This philosophy suggests that yes everything may happen as it is supposed to in the best possibility as an optimist but, it is what we do with the garden that is presented to us in “the now” that will affect how we will integrate that experience into our life. better stated, It is our reaction to any given situation that will determine how we will be effected by its outcomes. This almost insinuates that we have the possibility of Creating Our Own Reality. I believe we do!

    Love On!

    Marc Juneau

Comments are closed.

