The Blog is Dead! Long Live the Blog!

In May 2006, I started a journey of personal transformation, a journey focused on getting rid of the word someday from my life. For the past two years, I have blogged about this journey, usually laughing, sometimes whining and even shedding a few tears. But I always learned something and passed that learning along to you through my Someday Lessons. Coming up with those lessons has made look at every experience as a personal growth opportunity.

And now my story is mostly told. I know what my dreams are, I’m actively pursuing them and I’ve cleared (for the most part) the emotional, mental and physical clutter from my life. I’ve opened up the path to success and now it’s just a matter of staying on track and working on my dreams step by step.

I’m not, however, the only one who suffered from Someday Syndrome. I believe that almost everyone at least at one point in their life has let the word someday block the path to his or her dreams.

So, as of tomorrow (or whenever the magic of the Internet decides to accept the switch) this blog will be available only at http://someday.typepad.com. The main domain, http://www.somedaysyndrome.com, will point to a brand new site, featuring Someday Syndrome interviews with people throughout the blogosphere and in my personal corner of the world. I’m also taking on three lab-rats who’ve agreed to run the maze of curing Someday Syndrome and to share their journeys with you on an ongoing basis. Plus, I’ll keep you updated on my own journey.

And as always, with each post you’ll still get the Someday Lessons – my own interpretation of what I see in the lives of others.

See you on the other side!

Someday Lessons:

  • Recognize when something has run its course and end it before it drags on too much.
  • Nothing ever really ends. It just evolves into something new and different.

P.S. For those subscribed via RSS Feeder, you should make the transfer no problem, but unfortunately for those subscribed via email, you will need to resubscribe at the new site. Once it is up and running, I’ll send you an email reminder.

16 thoughts on “The Blog is Dead! Long Live the Blog!

  1. Sal says:

    Alex,

    You mentioned to “Recognize when something has run its course and end it before it drags on too much.” This reminds me of the Food Network, Emeril Live was at the peak of it’s career, a true highlight for the Food Network. I remember the day like it was yesterday…(start flashback sequence – blur blur blur)

    I was sitting on my couch watching none less than the magician of food himself, on Emril Live. The larger than life star, looked right into the camera and with his half Portugese half French accent announced to the world that Food Network decided to cancel his show. I stood there (well sat rather) in awe and disbelief. I was furious with the Food Network and vowed that I would never watch their programming ever again (needless to say I sat through the next 3 shows following Emril Live)…(end flash back sequence – blur blur blur)

    I realized shortly there after that Food Network wanted to pull the show at the highlight, before it started gonig down hill. I guess Food Network is, after all, a business too. Go figure.

  2. Alex Fayle says:

    @ Sal
    Sometimes shows are cut too soon (*cough* Wonderfalls, Firefly *cough*) but other times they drag on forever “jumping the shark”

    I didn’t want to jump the shark, so have come up with a spinoff that will hopefully be the Frasier to this blog’s Cheers.

  3. And I look forward to reading it!

  4. Writer Dad says:

    I love the name Someday Syndrome. Genius. I’m sure you’ll do exceedingly well. You certainly have the mindset.

    P.S. No kidding, Wonderfalls and Firefly. I guarantee you, Ugly Betty will get twelve seasons though.

  5. Alex Fayle says:

    @ Writer Dad
    Thanks! I’ve always been a fan of the name. As for Ugly Betty, I’m a fan, so I’d like to see maybe 5 or 6 seasons, but definitely not twelve.

  6. Alex Fayle says:

    @ Janet
    Thanks – I’ve been enjoying the new version of your blog too!

  7. Hurray for new blogs!!! Hurray for lab rats!!! Can’t wait!!!

    @Alex & Writer Dad…sigh…Firefly…WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?

  8. Rita says:

    As Ruth said to Naomi: “Where you go, I go.” Best of luck!

    Rita

  9. Erin says:

    Looking forward to the unveiling! Speaking as an RSS junkie, I’m glad to hear I shouldn’t have to do anything.

  10. writerchick says:

    Alex,
    Congratulations on meeting your goal! Well done, my boy. It’s always a good feeling when we do that isn’t it? I’m glad for you.

    WC

  11. Alex Fayle says:

    @UP
    We really are part of a Mutual Admiration Society, aren’t we?

    @Rita
    Thanks, although I had to wonder who’s Ruth and why is she following Naomi. (Shows you my heathen upbringing)

    @Erin
    Yes, I like Feedburner for that. I’m just hoping it works. We’ll find out next week, I guess.

    @WC
    Welcome and thanks! It does feel pretty darn good.

  12. I just read this today in “The Big Moo” and thought it belonged here:

    “Sometimes being remarkable is about knowing when it’s time to move on”

  13. Robin says:

    Hi Alex – good on you! – for moving on to a new blog. (Great post title, by the way)

  14. Ummm . . . someday I’ll respond to your questions. Honest.

    Meanwhile, hooray for you! It is nice to know when you’ve said what you have to say. Sort of like the final chapter of a book or the last scene in a film. If it’s been entertaining, everyone looks forward to the sequel!

  15. Cath Lawson says:

    Hi Alex – those are great points. I know Someday Syndrome only too well. Until recently, everything I really wanted to do was shelved until someday when I’d get the chance to do it. It wasn’t until recently that it occured to me that Someday may never come.

  16. Alex Fayle says:

    @Janet:
    Great quote.

    @Robin
    Glad you liked the title. I’ve been dying (pun intended) to use that ever since I started thinking about the update.

    @Cynthia
    LOL – if I don’t hear from you shortly, I’ll prompt you.

    @Cath
    Glad you figured out the Someday – and it sounds like you need to be featured in a Someday Interview!

Comments are closed.

