And We’re Live!

Welcome to the new Someday Syndrome. Sleeker, brighter and shinier, with five times more someday-scrubbing power.

photo by Michael KarshisFirst off, some thank you’s. To my sister, the Urban Panther, for having such fun with her own blog, she made me examine my own reasons for blogging. To James from Men with Pens and Copyblogger for asking a simple question which sent me off to seriously re-evaluate not just my reasons for blogging, but everything, especially the benefits for my readers. Harry and James from Men with Pens get more thanks for the great new design, awesome copyediting and fantastic support (plus the early morning Gmal chats with Harry). Finally, thanks to Lisa from Yenius Interactive Marketing for the new hosting service and the Friday evening blog support (I hope you enjoyed the Strongbow).

Now for the new features:

  • Someday Interviews – the someday journeys of others in the blogosphere and in my life.
  • The Lab-Rats – four volunteers who will examine their own somedays in public.
  • Alex’s Someday Archive – I’ll be bringing over the old site to a separate archive, in a searchable format.
  • Someday Workshop – by September everyone will be able to take advantage of my experiences and years of Professional Organizing to rid someday from your own life through a nine-week email workshop.

I hope you like the site – I’m thrilled with it. And I look forward to having great conversations with all of you in the comments section.

Someday Lessons:

  • No one ever does anything alone – remember to show your gratitude.
  • Don’t try to do it all at once – introduce new things one item at a time.
Tagged , , ,

26 thoughts on “And We’re Live!

  1. Al at 7P says:

    Wow, great (and i mean GREAT) new blog!

    I just came over and was trying to figure out why everything looked different. Had to catch up on some reading to learn about the new blog. Congratulations, and am looking forward to reading about the new lab rats.

    Al at 7P’s last blog post..The Hero with a Thousand Jobs

  2. Alex, this looks so, so much better. Kudos and cheers for you. I’m glad that we nailed the look you feel the most comfortable in.

    (May I just say that I claim the portion of mountain to the top left. I’ll put my house there. Those are my crops, too. And trees. You can come visit. We’ll drink wine and watch the sailboats go by.)

    Looking forward to that interview – you asked some really good (hard) questions!

    James Chartrand – Men with Pens’s last blog post..Inside the Secret Squad Room: Agent Olsen Lets Us Look

  3. Alex Fayle says:

    @Al
    Thanks! I’m very happy with the site. And yes it is VERY different from the previous look. I too am looking forward to reading about the lab-rats.

    @James
    Thanks! You guys are awesome at figuring out the style of your clients. As for the house, that’s fine, The view in the picture is from my kitchen terrace… 😉

    I can’t wait to read your answers to the interview!

    Cheers,
    Alex

  4. Brett Legree says:

    Alex,

    Awesome place you have here! (Kudos to the Men on the design, you really did nail it for Alex.)

    I’m really looking forward to the coming days, weeks, months here and I’ll get back to you with that email later today.

    Now, more coffee!

    -Brett

  5. Brett Legree says:

    PS – just thought I’d add in, that view you have looks very similar to the one that I *will* have from my own house – not someday mind you, but by a time which I have laid out and know I will meet.

    (No “somedays” anymore.)

  6. Alex Fayle says:

    @Brett
    Thanks. I had a blast setting it up. The new look has really rejuvenated me and I too am looking forward to the coming days, weeks and months here.

    Enjoy your coffee! (plus woohoo! to no more somedays)

  7. Hey, how come Harry gets morning chats and I don’t? *pouts*

  8. Brett Legree says:

    @Alex,

    Coffee was really great (mmm, got to get some more) – talk with you in a bit.

    @James,

    Don’t feel bad, sometimes I don’t even get morning chats from my family… thank the maker I have a cat.

  9. I LOVE IT!!!!

    @James and Harry – in September, we’ll talk *grin*

    Yay to me getting my little brother to examine his life…we are good at that, eh?

    Yay to lab rats and interviews!

    Did I mention I LOVE IT?!

    *grin*

    Urban Panther’s last blog post..Toughest crowd post script

  10. Kelly says:

    Alex,

    Oooh! Nice new digs. I wish you all the best!

    Regards,

    Kelly

    Kelly’s last blog post..Tip of the Week: Walk a Mile

  11. Urbane Lion says:

    Alex: Congrats on the new site! Looks fabulous! Harry & James really did a fantastic job. That bay looks like a prime anchoring spot for our new Pershing. Expect to see it soon!

  12. Wow, Alex, it looks amazing! Is that REALLY the view from your kitchen terrace? Lucky you!

    Janet Barclay’s last blog post..Organizing Digital Photographs

  13. I love what you have done with the layout. The color combination is very pleasing to the eye as well.

    Shamelle

    Shamelle @ TheEnhanceLife.com’s last blog post..Expectations: Is It A Human Weakness?

  14. Alex Fayle says:

    @James
    You don’t get the morning chats because with the 9 hour time difference my morning his Harry’s evening. For you it would be 1am.

    @UP & UL
    Glad the felines like it. You’re welcome to park your boat in my banner any time.

    @Janet
    No, that’s not my view, but it’s pretty close. I never get tired of looking out my window.

    @Kelly & Shamelle
    Glad the two of you like the site. Colours are always so hard to pick, but I think Harry did a great job finding what I wanted.

  15. Hm. Point. I like you, but not enough to stay up that late 🙂

    I could get afternoon chats…

  16. Beautiful site, Alex.

    I’m looking forward to seeing some of the new features.

    Erin Hartshorn’s last blog post..More short stories wanting to be written

  17. Alex Fayle says:

    @James
    We can do afternoon chats for sure. Plus we’ll be in Montreal the day after Thanksgiving so you get a live visit (your favourite bar?) and Harry doesn’t (unless he wants to do Canadian Thanksgiving).

    @Erin
    Thanks so much. They start today!

  18. Alex,

    This is absolutely dreamy. Congratulations. I look forward to visting often.

    All best, Jan

    Janice Cartier’s last blog post..Lickety Split Gold

  19. Very cool. Montreal’s a great city. With crazy drivers, so take the Metro 🙂 First time or many a time?

  20. Alex Fayle says:

    @James
    First time for Raul (although he’s always wanted to visit Canada) and I’ve been a few times but for some strange reason not since 1991. (Montreal was a someday city for me – love it but never got around to getting back to it after a friend finished university and moved away).

  21. David Bridger says:

    I love your new site, Alex!

    Well done. It’s a wonderful new start.

    Congratulations!

    David Bridger’s last blog post..My Ideal Reader

  22. Alex Fayle says:

    @David
    Thanks so much. I’m really enjoying working with the site and with Word Press.

  23. steph says:

    This does look really wonderful. I’m glad you stopped by my blog so I could be led here. Within only five minutes I’d subscribed. I look forward to keeping up with you! Um, well, I mean keeping up with your blog now that I’ve subscribed. I’m still working on the someday thing…

    …and I know reading here will help!

    Funny: the second I saw this design, I knew who did it. I scrolled to the bottom to confirm. It’s incredible how many new launches the Men have had lately, all as beautiful and impressive as the next.

    Also cool to recognize quite a few names here! (Hey, you guys!)

    steph’s last blog post..Know Thyself

  24. Alex Fayle says:

    @Steph
    Yes, the Men do have a distinctive style, and yet their clients’ blogs don’t all look the same. How do they do it? I don’t know. Magic, I’m guessing.

  25. Ahhh…late to the party again.

    @Alex: Congrats! The blog looks great.

    @Steph: Not even I know how we do it 🙂

  26. Alex Fayle says:

    @Harry
    Thanks! You two have a gift – it explains your success.

    PS You’re never late to the party. There’ll always be a glass of something for waiting you (and some snacks of course).

Comments are closed.

