My Summer Someday List

The other day Karen Swim over at Words for Hire wrote about how quickly the summer has passed and how few fun things she’s accomplished. I’ve felt that my own summer has kind of passed me by as well. While I’ve been working on the big Somedays in my life, I’ve forgotten about the little ones.

Don’t get me wrong. We’ve had a very full summer – weekend trips to Catalonia, Madrid and Bilbao; friends visiting from France, Madrid and Toronto; at least one afternoon a week on the beach; and last week during San Sebastian’s summer celebration of the Virgin (Semana Grande) we saw fireworks every night and went out dancing until at least 3am five out of the seven nights.

So what’s missing? What small Somedays have I not managed to cram into an already jam-packed summer?

  • Hiking in the mountains: since my first online conversation with Raul, we’ve talked abuot climbing a local peak that’s walking-friendly.
  • The city’s Santa Clara Isle: I look at it every time we head to the Parte Vieja, or I go teach English class, but I’ve never gotten around to taking the ferry over to the island. There’s nothing really there – just parkland and a lighthouse, but it’s THERE and therefore I want to explore it.
  • Visit friends in my former village in France: I use the lack of a car an excuse for that, but really all I need to do is ask to borrow a friend’s car for the day and send my friends an email. I just haven’t made time.

Given everything that we have accomplished this summer, my Someday List is short, but they’re pretty important to me, so…

  • Before classes start on September 2nd, I will borrow that car and drive across the border to visit my friends.
  • Next week I’ll arrange with Raul to go to the island one day after work. And if he’s too tired, I’ll go exploring on my own.
  • Hiking is a good autumn activity, so before we go to Paris to see Madonna on the 19th of September, I’ll gather up a group of friends and we’ll spend a Sunday afternoon in the mountains.

What’s your summer Someday List?

Someday Lessons:

  • Even when we’re being incredibly productive, there are usually things left undone.
  • Taking the time to think about your Someday List is often enough of a spur to start clearing it.
Tagged , ,

26 thoughts on “My Summer Someday List

  1. Karen Swim says:

    Alex, I loved your point that although the Someday list is short they are things that are important to you. I agree with you that it is important to take stock of that Someday list periodically, otherwise you can find yourself out of time.

    Karen Swim’s last blog post..Hitting the Pause Button

  2. Mike Goad says:

    Mine’s easy. I’ve got one more week on this contract and the week after that, we’re taking off for a month. Then, when we get back, we’ll be working on the house, with periodic middle of the week trips to various parks.

    Mike Goad’s last blog post..What does “Gay New York” mean to you?

  3. Writer Dad says:

    Those Islands look beautiful. Are they part of the Canaries?

    Writer Dad’s last blog post..The Truth in Our Make-Believe

  4. Al at 7P says:

    Very timely article since summer is indeed winding down. For me, I would say take a drive to the beach. Can’t believe I’ve not done so yet!

    Al at 7P’s last blog post..Why Should I Help You?

  5. We managed to do a great job on our *play* list, not so hot on our *work* list this summer.

    Given the choice, I am actually OK with that, summer in the midwest is so darn short and I think that come the frigid winter I don’t want to be thinking, gee, I sure got a lot of work done this summer. But then again, there are a few outdoor projects I don’t want to be doing in the freezing weather so after we get back from our anniversary this weekend, it will be time to push up our sleeves and get some things done before the warm weather comes to an end.

    Wendi Kelly-Life’s Little Inspirations’s last blog post..Sandcastle Promises

  6. Sal says:

    I wish I lived over there. One of my someday items is to live in Italy. It would be awesome to catch a train to Barcelona. I guess for now I need to focus on the someday’s that I can control.

    Sal’s last blog post..Look Before You Leap – Or Not

  7. Alex,
    You are single handedly responsible for tempting me to make my someday to Barcelona and Spain, someday soon. It is about third on my list, but moving up rapidly. and of course now I want to see all those little islands..Sigh…

    I made a September 15 a big goal deadline. I have been hard at work, so I am afraid I have let my “Someday” list slide by the wayside. So this weekend, I am thinking, I may put some time aside and look into the cost of that trip.

    Janice Cartier’s last blog post..Not this Color, Exactly

  8. Cath Lawson says:

    Alex – you lucky git – I can’t believe you’re going to see Madonna. How did you manage to get tickets? Were they expensive?

    Cath Lawson’s last blog post..The Dirty Word In The Blogosphere

  9. Marelisa says:

    Well, there’s only a sunny and a rainy season over here, but I would like to learn to scuba dive, as well as go bird watching with the Audubon Society within the next month.

    Marelisa’s last blog post..Five Simple Ways to Create Passive Income

  10. My Someday Summer list:
    * take the Little Lion to the water slide park
    * re-visit that great beach we anchored off of on our Montreal boat trip
    * take D2 shopping for her birthday present (her birthday was in April)
    * take D1 and D2 to Montreal for a shopping and exploring trip
    * be much further ahead on the Outdoor Kitchen (this one is actually the fault of all the rain we’ve had!)
    Sigh…there just never seem to be enough weekends in the Summer.

    Urban Panther’s last blog post..The Samson Factor

  11. Alex Fayle says:

    @Karen
    Thank you for reminding me to examine my Someday List. It’s so easy to continue through the day without stopping and reflecting.

    @Mike
    A month off sounds wonderful! Are you going somewhere for the month? And the autumn is such a great time to go wandering around parks. (BTW, love your post title – can’t wait to click through to see what it’s about).

    @Writer Dad
    That’s San Sebastian where I live. The old part of the city is huddle at the base of the mountain on the left and the island I want to explore is in the middle of the bay. The photo is taken from an early 20th century amusement park on top of a third mountain on the far side of the bay (it has a gravity-run rollercoaster that would never be allowed to exist in North America).

    @Al
    You must get to the beach – now that I live on the ocean I never want to move back inland.

    @Wendi
    Good for you on the play list – now use Dave Navarro’s First Law of Action to get moving on the workstuff! http://tinyurl.com/58c9xc

    @

  12. Alex Fayle says:

    @Sal
    Last year I decided to live a nomadic life (which lasted 3 months before deciding that I really needed a community to be happy). During that time I looked at traveling through Italy. It’s definitely on my travel list and when Someday Syndrome and my publishing have brought in lots of money, maybe Raul and I will live there for a year (or at least for a summer). What region in Italy? I think my choice would be the north, but I’d have to look around a bit before deciding.

    @Janice
    I ended up moving to Spain because I spent New Year’s Eve 2006 in Barcelona and fell in love with the city, the culture, the country and the language – especially the language. I’ve never met anyone who didn’t like Barcelona, even the people who were robbed enjoyed the city.

    @Cath
    A friend of ours is a member of Madonna’s fan club, so we got floor (“mosh pit”) tickets for about 90 euros – meaning if we get aggressive we can be right at the foot of the stage. And just because Madonna’s going to be in Toronto the same weekend we are in October, we’re going to see her a second time – this time close to the stage but way up in the nosebleed section (just for a different perspective).

    @Marelisa
    Scuba diving has never been a big thing for me, but I have many friends who plan their vacations around scuba sites. And bird watching where you are would probably be gorgeous – lots of colourful birds, no?

    @UP
    D2 still doesn’t have her bday present? Get that scheduled now! heeheeheehee
    Otherwise, lovely list and totally doable (if it decides to stop raining!)

  13. Mike Goad says:

    We are heading toward Wisconsin, where our youngest daughter lives, with her husband and our only two grandchildren. We may visit some of Karen’s family there. I took Karen away from Wisconsin in 1972…, after all of her immediate family left, with most of them going to Arkansas. Her grandparents or great grandparents were all immigrants from Quebec back in the early 1900s or late 1800s. We’ll spend about a week getting there, ten days or so visiting and then start working our way back home.

    The title of the post was intentionally written to grab attention…, and I must say that, overall, I’ve been pleased with the tone of the comments that I’ve been receiving. The post is part of my process of writing things that are outside of my “comfort zone.” There will be more coming, but I don’t plan for it to completely take over what I blog about.

    Mike Goad’s last blog post..What does “Gay New York” mean to you?

  14. Cath Lawson says:

    Wow – you’re seeing her twice – that’s really amazing. 90 euros isn’t cheap though considering you’ll be standing up. She seems to be able to get heaps more per ticket than anyone else.

  15. Alex Fayle says:

    @Cath
    I’ve never seen her, so decided to go for it, but normally I don’t spend much money on concerts (in fact I rarely go). I think it’s criminal what the super-rich can get away with in terms of getting richer, but it’s a market economy and us plebes are silly enough to spend the money, so if she can get away with charging it, why not?

  16. Alex Fayle says:

    @Mike
    Sounds like a wonderful trip, full of family history. And congrats on stretching the comfort zone. Not many people are willing to do so. You did a nice job with the post.

  17. Sal says:

    @Alex: I have family (my father’s side still lives there) in the Southern region, on the tip of the boot. I think the North would be great too, that is where the best olives and vineyards are located. I’m not very picky, as long as I end up over there. I think it would be great to visit some family but at the same time it would be fun to just travel all over the place.

    Sal’s last blog post..Look Before You Leap – Or Not

  18. Hi Alex.

    I loved Paris and my wife always gives me the jealous look every time I mention that vacation (which I took before I met her).

    My SummerList one day – to take my wife to Paris with our 2 children.

    John Hoff – eVentureBiz’s last blog post..Fluffy’s Guide To Securing Your WordPress Blog – Post 1

  19. Hi Alex,

    I love how you remind us that our someday list should contain small somedays, too. Something as simple as a hike through the woods, can bring us as much joy as a big trip. It’s all in our perception.

    Barbara Swafford’s last blog post..A.S.K. – Liz Strauss – How Do You Inspire Your Readers To Join Your Community

  20. Alex Fayle says:

    @Sal
    I love to travel but there’s the whole having to earn money thing plus I’m a homebody so get overwhelmed by too much travel (that being said, we tend to go away almost every weekend, so I guess I don’t get *that* overwhelmed by it).

    @John
    I’ve been to Paris a few times and agree that it’s definitely a place to take the family – such history!

    @Barbara
    Thanks! Perception is really important. When I talk to people about how I moved to Europe, they say “wow, how brave – I could never do that” but for me it wasn’t brave at all. I felt it was the right thing to do and did it. If I had decided that the right decision were to have been staying at home and carving out more writing time for myself from the schedule I had, I would have done that with the same enthusiasm.

  21. Davina says:

    Camping! Usually by this time each summer I’ve been about 3 times. This year I’ve been “held captive” by a gov’t contract and when it finishes this week I will be FREEEEEEEE. Yipee!!!!

    Madonna. Wow, that will be some concert!

    Davina’s last blog post..Does Misery Really Love Company?

  22. Alex Fayle says:

    @Davina
    Yay to freedom! What will you do?

  23. Alex, when I read this last week, it upset me to realize that I wasn’t doing the things I wanted to, which included lots of walking and going to the new farmers market near me. Thank you so much for lighting a fire under me – I walked to the market and back today, and I now have two less reasons to kick myself when summer ends!

    Janet Barclay’s last blog post..August Wrap-Up

  24. Alex Fayle says:

    Good for you Janet! I’m happy to be a firestarter anytime (and being a club-kid I now have The Prodigy’s The Firestarter in my head, so I must share it… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28ow4TLMTqM )

  25. James Bower says:

    Great blog, reading it through RSS feed as well

  26. Alex Fayle says:

    Glad you’re enjoying it James!

Comments are closed.

