Discovering a Passion for Blogging: Urban Panther Interview Part 2

While the Urban Panther might be new to the blogosphere, she’s been in my life for a very long time (being my sister). We often help each other when we get stuck and recently it was my turn to help her get unstuck. The Panther was the first person to run through my email workshop (which premiered yesterday) and through that discovered her passion for blogging.

Who: Elizabeth Fayle of the Urban Panther’s Lair
Elizabeth (aka the Urban Panther) is phasing out her existence as an IT Project Manager in Ontario, and phasing in her existence as a humourist blogger in Quebec.

Before continuing, read the first part of the interview here.

What changed? Was it gradual or did it come as an epiphany? Perhaps a mix the two?
What changed? What didn’t change?! *chuckle*. Left a bad relationship. Took a year to myself to figure me out. Met my fantastic man. Moved in with him. Mentioned my desire to write. Got his full support and encouragement. BUT, the major push was beta-ing Alex’s Someday Syndrome course. Yes, that appears to be blatant family promotion, but I’m serious. I worked my way through his course on how to remove Someday from my life and BOOM, not only am I blogging everyday, but I was just honoured by another website dedicated on how to best to blog, with a New Blogger of the Week feature article.

What dream are you in the process of realizing?
In partnership with my fantastic man, we are working towards financially supporting ourselves though some type of e-business. My blogging site is gaining popularity, and his has just recently been launched. This is just the beginning. Once the sites are established we will work on a business plan for generating revenue. Huh, that came across as a Someday, but it’s not. It’s a step by step process, and establishing the websites is step 1.

How would you describe your happiness level now?
Over the top!!! To be honest I am feeling a bit overwhelmed with the rapid and positive responses to my website, but hey, I’m going with it. And as for work, I have a different attitude. Work is now part of my plan, instead of working against my plan. Right now I need the steady income, in order to work on my other business ideas. I can’t say I am now thrilled to go to work, but I am no longer resentful of it. As a matter of fact, I’m quite grateful.

What advice would you give someone in the position you were in before?
Really take the time to figure out what fulfills you. Then be open to different ways of incorporating that into your life. I honestly had no idea that professional blogging existed! I knew I wanted to write, but I also knew I didn’t want to write a book, do script writing, any of that type of thing. Then one day Alex mentioned that I might be better suited for professional blogging, and the rest,as they say, is history! Oh, and sign up for Alex’s course. Seriously!

Someday Lessons:

  • When passion comes together in several areas of your life at once, your brilliance lights up the world.
  • Get specific with your dreams. The more clarity you can find, the easier they will be to realize.
Tagged , , ,

12 thoughts on “Discovering a Passion for Blogging: Urban Panther Interview Part 2

  1. These are brilliant insights Alex Thanks so much for speaking so candidly Elizabeth. You are a very clever writer. Sometimes it just takes a bit to find that sweet spot of passions and possibilities. I know that SOUNDS terribly naughty, but I meant it in a professional sense. The world and I are extremely jealous of the fabulous and fun connection you have with Monsiuer Lion, but I meant that timing of “this is really me, now how can I meet the world with it “is what I am talking about. I like the way that your day job is now a welcome partner, a collaborator as well. (But doesn’ t that fabulous supportive person or two or three make all the difference in the world?) I wish you all good things wiht this very exciting venture of yours…

    Janice Cartier’s last blog post..A Tale Of Two Lists

  2. Lance says:

    First off, I find the Urban Panther to be a very fun read – it’s a great way to remove some stress from my day!

    And, I think she hits it on the head when she says that we should really take time to figure out what fulfills us. Too often, we go through life on auto pilot, and too often – unhappy and unfulfilled. It takes some active reflection on our part to really figure out who we are and want we want to be.

    Lance’s last blog post..What We Learn From Winning

  3. Rita says:

    Alex,

    Fascinating.

    Rita

  4. Wendi Kelly says:

    That was a very interesting and insightful two day read. I enjoy your blog Elizabeth, you have a very funny and unique viewpoint. Maybe its in the name. My daughter is named Elizabeth and she is the funniest kid I’ve ever met!

    Wendi Kelly’s last blog post..The Power of Your Secret Weapon

  5. writerchick says:

    Great interview guys. I have admired Panther from day one, she is so together and really knows where she is headed. I envy that focus-ness and admire it too.

    Annie

  6. Ellen Wilson says:

    Wow, you two do look alike. Urban, now I have to call you Elizabeth? I don’t know if I can.

    I’m curious to see the evolving of the E business. And I think you are already a great professional blogger, Urban.

    Ellen Wilson’s last blog post..My Social Experiment: RSS Numbers

  7. Al at 7P says:

    I’m very impressed with Urban Panther being able to identify the someday syndrome with her current work situation. It’s tough to leave a current profession, particularly if it provides a life of comfort. I’ll be rooting for the Panther in her next career!

    Al at 7P’s last blog post..What’s More Important: Who You Are or What You Do?

  8. Alex Fayle says:

    @Janice
    Talking and being candid are two things that the Panther and I excel at. It’s getting us to shut up and hold back with our feelings that’s the challenge. 😉

    @Lance
    I love the image of the autopilot. Far too many of us live that way. I always recommend a great book to help with that: Judith Sills’ The Comfort Trap (http://judithsills.com/comforttrap.asp) for help on turning it off.

    @Rita
    Yes the Panther is a fascinating woman (and not just because she’s my sister;) )

    @Wendi
    I wonder whether the Queen of England is a funny woman? I know from Helen Mirren’s portrayal of her that she might very well be a dryly-humorous woman (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0436697/)

    @Annie
    Oh the stories I could tell you… but I won’t because I love my sister (and because she could tell whoppers about me too) 😉

    @Ellen
    I never used to think that we looked alike, but it’s more obvious now. And I’m also interested to see how the e-business evolves for the felines.

    @Al
    Identifying the somedays is a real challenge. They can be staring right at us and we act as if they’re not even there.

  9. Hi Alex and Elizabeth (Panther)

    I love the takeaways from this interview, especially the part “get specific with your dreams”. It’s obvious when Elizabeth did, life changed. It will be fun to follow her progress as she moves into a life of possibly becoming a professional blogger.

    P.S. Thank you for the mention.

    Barbara Swafford’s last blog post..NBOTW – Putting His Spin On It

  10. This was a great 2 part interview, Alex. I like how Urban panther (not sure I can call her Elizaabeth) says that now she sees her day job as part of her life plan as her stable income source. Often, I think this is a key part of happiness – looking at our choices differently. We do choose to get up and go to work every day for a reason. We can own that and be empowered by it and know it’s not forever if we have a bigger goal.

    Good luck with the e-business UP!

    Kelly

  11. Karen Putz says:

    Alex, I’m really enjoying getting to know your sister! I have no doubt that she’ll be able to kick butt and make her way as a professional blogger.

  12. Alex Fayle says:

    @Karen
    Yes, once she’s made up her mind on something, bam! off she goes!

Comments are closed.

