When Alex Lived for Someday

Many people have asked exactly how I went from living in Toronto with a house, a car, lot of furniture, two cats and career as a Professional Organizer on the edge of becoming one of the country’s leading experts to living in Spain, writing novels, blogging and creating workshops to help people clear the Somedays from their lives. So, while I’m off showing Raul everything about my Canadian life, here’s a bit more about my past.

The following is an excerpt from the first week of the second workshop I’ll Get Around to It Someday (currently in production). Next week I’ll let you know how I ended up in France and in two weeks I’ll take you to Spain with me.


“Don’t fool yourself that important things can be put off till tomorrow; they can be put off forever, or not at all.”

Mignon McLaughlin, The Neurotic’s Notebook

When I was twelve years old, I decided that I was going to be a writer, but that I was too young to do anything about it. I even knew that I wanted to do it in southern Europe somewhere (I had decided this by picking a spot in Europe not too hot, not too cold).

When I started university, I considered applying to a creative writing program, but I decided that free tuition by going to the university where my father worked was more important. And no one became a writer from a university degree.

When I finished my undergraduate degree, I decided that I needed to go back to school to gain skills that would get me a job, because after a lifetime in school, earning good money was important to me – I wanted to buy things.

When I finished my masters, I decided that making a living and acquiring things were more important than writing. I wanted to create a stable life first before I could write.

When I worked for a place that made me very unhappy, I stopped writing altogether. It was only a break, I told myself, until I was happier.

When I started my own business, making it successful took up all my time and eclipsed any writing. I was being creative, doing business-related stuff. That had to count for something writing-wise, didn’t it?

For twenty-five years, I said that someday I would become a writer. Now was never good enough. I even had short stories published and yet still said someday. At each major decision moment in my life – ages, 12, 19, 25, 27, 30, and 34 – I said “no, they’ll be plenty of time for writing later.”

Someday Lesson:

  • I’ll get around to it someday: putting off what you want to do thinking you’ll have all the time in the world to do it later.
  • What are you putting off until later?

P.S. Remember that for an unspecified time during my vacation, I’m offering the first workshop: Someday My Ship Will Come In for free. Visit the workshop page today and start clearing your life of Somedays.

P.P.S. The Urban Panther and I have a guest post up on Men With Pens today. Go check it out.

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “When Alex Lived for Someday

  1. Ahhhh…wasn’t he such a cuddly-wuddly 12 year old?

    And no, you so don’t get to see pictures of me at 12!

    Urban Panther´s last blog post..Creative collaboration

  2. Karen Swim says:

    Okay, first you were (and still are) just adorable! As I read your story, I nodded along completely understanding those choices that we make out of logic, practicality, reason. Your someday mirrors the experience of so many of us until that light bulb moment when we realize a bunch of days have gone by and none of them were that “someday.” Thank you so much for opening your life, sharing your lessons and gifts and cheering us on to maximize our lives.

    Karen Swim´s last blog post..Stress – Screeching Strings or Beautiful Music?

  3. Mike Goad says:

    I put off a lot of things that I really don’t feel like doing, like finishing our house remodeling. However, I’m tempering that with “no big trip until we make a major dent in in this project.”

    Mike Goad´s last blog post..Buy! Buy! Buy! — We did!

  4. Ellsea says:

    That rings so many bells! I always wanted to be a writer, but let my parents talk me into a sensible career so “I’d have something to fall back on” if the writing didn’t work out. Trouble was, the sensible career demanded a 60 hour week and I was too knackered to go to the gym, let alone write. It was only when I had kids and stopped working (in an office) that I suddenly got enough headspace to remember that being a writer was what I wanted. So now I’m going for it, and trying to apply the same level of professionalism to that as I did to my other job.

    I still get moments of procrastination, though I recognise them as actually moments of fear, when I get so scared that I’m not good enough I start to disperse my energy and focus into other ‘stuff’ by way of distraction.

    Ellsea´s last blog post..A satisfying weekend

  5. Karen Putz says:

    I, too, put off writing for “someday.” Well, someday is now here and I’m enjoying the articles that I write and the blogs that I cover. Next up, the ebook!

    P.S.–you were darn cute as a kid, and even more so as an adult. Lucky Raul!

    Karen Putz´s last blog post..What I Learned from Stress–Middle Zone Musings

  6. Peter says:

    Hi Alex,

    I must admit I was one of those people curious about how you came to be living in Spain doing what your doing. Thanks for the reminder that “someday” very often never arrives.

    Peter´s last blog post..The Way of Retreat: How To Get Promoted Without Doing Anything

Comments are closed.

