When Alex Discovers His True Desire

This is the third in a series of four posts describing how I went from a desk job I hated to living and writing in Northern Spain. Check out the first two posts here:

All three posts come from the upcoming second eWorkshop entitled: I’ll Get Around to It Someday


“What a different story people would have to tell if they would adopt a definite purpose and stand by that purpose until it had time to become an all-consuming purpose.”
– Napoleon Hill, Laws of Success

In July 2003 when I started my own business I believed my purpose in life was to make lots of money as a Professional Organizer then stop working and start writing someday.

For three and a half years, I thought that this was exactly what I wanted (you notice, however, that my real dream was hidden at the end of that purpose meaning the first part really was just a means, not the end).

Then in early 2006, a colleague of mine confessed that she was hating working for herself and had a plan to give it all up. I realized that I too wasn’t happy with my current career path either, but I had my dream and I couldn’t imagine achieving it any other way.

On the one hand business was good. I was getting more and more media recognition but on the other hand I was dragging myself to appointments and resented all the sales and marketing work I had to do to get it.
Then at the end of May 2006, the colleague who was giving it all up hired me to help her organize her condo to know what to sell, give away or ship to England. After one session, she asked me what I would rather be doing if I weren’t organizing.

At first I refused to say then finally admitted “I want to be living in France and writing. She asked me why I was bothering with the middle step if that’s what I really wanted and I couldn’t come up with a single reason. In fact, to do anything else but follow my dream would negate everything I’d ever taught my clients about procrastination and somedays.

So, within three weeks my house was sold, I’d announced to the world what I was doing and within three months, I was on a plane to France.

Someday Lesson:

  • Is your current purpose in life the means or the end? If it’s the means, can you cut it out and jump straight to the end?

P.S. Are you living for today or for someday? Find out with the Someday My Ship Will Come In eWorkshopfree for a short time.

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “When Alex Discovers His True Desire

  1. Brett Legree says:

    Alex,

    Thanks for sharing this story today – your Someday Lesson is one which I shall ponder for a while. I expect once I’ve had a chance to think about it, I may change gears a bit – because I think I am in the same place right now that you were back then.

    I was chatting with your sister on Twitter the other day, too bad I couldn’t make it out her way to meet you. Next time – or maybe I’ll just have to take a trip out your way, as I’ve never been.

    Brett Legree´s last blog post..john who?

  2. I went through several “means” but I could never figure out what the “end” was. I was doing all these “means” (working in chem. labs, a bakery, pharmacy, library, equestrian centres) that were good, interesting jobs but certainly not what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. But I really couldn’t ever find the end. I was always asking myself what I was going to do when I grew up.
    When I did find the end (organizing) I realized that I could take everything I learned doing the “means” and apply it to the “end” which makes the means seem like they weren’t a waste of time.

    So if you ever need your chem. lab organized, give me a call.

    Jacki Hollywood Brown´s last blog post..Seth Godin helps motion sickness

  3. Marelisa says:

    Hi Alex: I guess it’s like the person who wants to be a doctor but goes to nursing school, or the English teacher whose real dream is to write a novel. I agree with you that we should cut out the middle step and just jump to what we really want.

    Marelisa´s last blog post..18 Ways to be Uber Creative

  4. Crista Renner says:

    Great insight on this posting Alex. I’m with Brett – I’m in that contemplation space trying to determine what the “end” really is. I hope you had a great trip.

  5. steph says:

    This one has really made me think. Right away I wanted to say that what I’m doing and even looking for (because I don’t want to look for a job but have to) is definitely just the means…but I’m not sure, either, what I want the end to be. What sucks is that it doesn’t matter right now. With money so tight, there’s no way to skip to the end just yet.

    steph´s last blog post..Reawake

  6. Brett Legree says:

    I know where I want to go – wondering if there is a way to take a short cut (well, there is always a way, I suppose). So this is worthy of more thought for sure.

    Brett Legree´s last blog post..john who?

Comments are closed.

