A Someday Relapse

  • Someday Lesson: Someday Syndrome sneaks up on even those who are the most on guard against it.

That’s right. I’m talking about me.

Yesterday, thanks to the support of an amazing group of people, I realized that I’ve been suffering from a touch of I’ll Get Around To It Someday.

It’d be easy to blame the Canadian vacation. After all, since getting back home, I’ve been a lot slower answering emails (i.e., almost not at all). I got off to a bang on my novel, but have now almost abandoned it. Nor have I been working on the next part of the Someday Syndrome cure.

About the only Someday I’ve conquered is starting a running program, but that’s only because I’d gotten back into a not-sleeping-from-lack-of-exercise state and I just had to start moving more.

In other words, the past few weeks, I’ve been in a funk and this week it became a full-on wallow. But instead of indulging my wallow in my normal fashion, I reached out and found (in alphabetical order) Brett, Crista, Elaine, James, James & Harry, Kelly, Naomi, and the Urban Panther (well, and Raul of course).

And with all that support, how could I not overcome procrastination caused by Someday Syndrome? So, starting today, look for a more energetic, Someday-busting Alex (although you won’t actually see me being more energetic because most of the work I’m gong to be doing is behind the scenes 😉 ).

When (thanks to everyone’s assistance) I’m rich and famous, I am so showering my support network with lots of pretty gifts. In the meantime, any time one of them needs a shoulder to cry on, an ear to vent to, or a foot for a butt-kicking, I am so there.

So tell me, when doing big Tigger bounces of gratitude, how do you show it?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

27 thoughts on “A Someday Relapse

  1. It was my pleasure, seriously, and I’m glad I could help.

    And saying thanks comes in a variety of ways. An email, a quick, “Thanks!” or maybe a subtle message in a post… whatever feels right for the moment.

    James Chartrand – Men with Pens´s last blog post..Your Chance to Learn How to Make Money Online

  2. Kelly says:

    Alex,

    Thank you for the thank you, and it was really great to be able to help out.

    If this was your wallowing week, with all that has been going on in the background, then we do NOT define wallowing the same way. You, sir, wallow in a whirlwind. Good for you, because you expertly took yourself out of your own potential funk.

    (Psst… secret… Tigger was once my nickname. “Bouncy bouncy bouncy bouncy fun fun fun fun fun,” don’t ya know.)

    Oh boy did I crack up at 3 am when you sent me an emailed Tiggerish thank-you! I was up with miserable computer problems, and your little missive came in—just when I most needed a laugh.

    How do I show it? In writing, for sure. Once I was a big fan of handwritten letters. I’m still a fan of the thank-you note, but nobody has the patience to wait for a real letter anymore, so I do plenty of gratitude-by-email when it’s more than will fit inside a card. I’ll never get away from loving the writing of a letter, even if now my keyboard is too often involved. 🙂

    You go on and kick butt now. I’m looking forward to the results of so many cooks hip-checking each other unknowingly in your kitchen!

    Regards,

    Kelly

    Kelly´s last blog post..Are We Good Enough Yet?

  3. Brett Legree says:

    Alex,

    No worries, my friend – any time you need a hand, let me know.

    And thank *you* for all you are doing. Congrats on your running program, too – that is *great*.

    What do I do? Usually if I can, I pay a visit – or if it is too far, a message of some kind is great – like the one you sent to me.

    (Like Kelly, I was laughing out loud this morning when I received that – thank you very much!)

    Yes, go forth and kick butt – you’re an inspiration to all of us who are on our own Someday Journeys.

    -Brett

    Brett Legree´s last blog post..the game.

  4. A villa in Spain will do nicely, thank you very much, as my pretty gift.

    Tigger bounces of gratitude? HUGS! accompanied with Thank You So Much!

    Cute cards (thanks for the one you sent!), and if I have time they are homemade.

    Urban Panther´s last blog post..Faerie glasses

  5. @Alex – Question: did we all say the same thing, but from a slightly different angle, or did we provide a unique slice of the pie to make up a whole pie?

    Just wondering, because I am the type of who talks to several different people, just like you obviously did. I find the collection of advice then creates an A-ha! moment for me.

    Urban Panther´s last blog post..Faerie glasses

  6. Friar says:

    How do I give Tigger bounces of gratitude?

    For really special cases, I’ll suprise them with one of my framed, original watercolor paintings.

    That’s been known to make people cry.

    (I’m assuming it’s with tears of JOY…hopefully) 🙂

    Friar´s last blog post..A Field in Tilley, Alberta

  7. Alex, I just read your comment on the writing excuses guest post and I dropped by to see how you were doing. I’m glad that you’re getting a handle on your post-vacation layabouts. I have that problem too, but that’s usually because I don’t take enough vacation. 🙂

    Jamie Grove – How Not To Write´s last blog post..How to Use Your Excuses to Fuel Your Writing: A NaNoWriMo Profile

  8. Kelly says:

    Alex,

    Ooh, I’m with Panther. Curious to hear…

    I’d like to think we all showed you a different part of the elephant (you know the old story?).

    Until later,

    Kelly

    Kelly´s last blog post..Tip of the Week: The Empty Office

  9. If we’re showing an elephant I know which bit I’d be talking about…*weg*

    I’m just so super chuffed that you are getting excited about your ideas again (or at least that’s what I’m reading between the lines).

    Gratitude expression varies but it tends to have two parts. Firstly I get all mushy and say thanks a lot. Secondly, the next time I see a way to help that person, I’m there like a shot.

    James | Dancing Geek´s last blog post..Free Happiness Coaching

  10. Amy Derby says:

    You say thanks with postcards, of course. 😉

  11. Alex Fayle says:

    @James
    This week will be dedicated to implementing your suggestions. Lots of writing ahead!

    @Kelly
    “wallow in a whirlwind” – yeah, I guess that describes me pretty well. I felt like I wasn’t accomplishing anything last week, but I suppose I was pretty active – just not with what I thought I would be doing.

    @Brett
    I’m glad my foibles can help others – if nothing else they provide good “don’t do this” lessons… 😉

    @UP
    My dream is to buy my favourite villa here in San Sebastian and do it up with a professional kitchen, a common eating/living area and a few “suites” with one always open for guests. Would that work for you?

    And yes, I got different things from different people from support to laughter to thought-provoking criticism to ass-kicking. All together, it was exactly what I needed.

    @Friar
    Oh, wow! That would be an awesome thank-you gift. (I will now seriously plot out ways to help you. Maybe I’ll first cause a problem for you and then fix it. Yeah, that’ll work!)

    @Jamie
    Sometimes I feel that I take too many vacations (ie, “mental health” days)…

    @James (DG)
    You’d choose the ears? 😉

    I love the word chuffed! It has an almost dirty sound to it.

    @Amy
    You haven’t already gotten it, have you?

  12. I got different things from different people from support to laughter to thought-provoking criticism to ass-kicking.

    Oh dude. Don’t leave us in suspense. I gotta hear who gave you what!

    James Chartrand – Men with Pens´s last blog post..Interview with Pen Man #3: Charlie Pabst Goes Naked

  13. Kelly says:

    James,

    LOL! I read it and I knew exactly who gave what, silly!

    Maybe that’s b/c I know where to fit me in the puzzle, and everybody else falls into place around me.

    Until later,

    Kelly

    Kelly´s last blog post..They Say It’s Your Birthday!

  14. @ Kelly – Well, I’d say I either gave ass-kicking or thought-provoking, but then again, so many people tell me that I give them such a wide variety of things, and I’m always a little surprised that people take *anything* away from conversations with me, so… yeah.

    More coffee.

    James Chartrand – Men with Pens´s last blog post..Interview with Pen Man #3: Charlie Pabst Goes Naked

  15. Kelly says:

    James,

    Well, since Alex is wisely absent, let’s just say I’m usually just as powerful long-term, but only one of us is regularly associated with the term ass-kicking. So I’m gonna assume the leopard didn’t change his stripes.

    Plus I am sure that each of us gave a mix, no? I mean, I think I tried to be supportive… okay, no, maybe humorous… no, I don’t remember being funny either… Jeez.

    “I’m always a little surprised that people take *anything* away from conversations with me.” Me, too. I mean, white on black, people! Curséd reverse type! He-llo!

    😉

    Until later,

    Kelly

    Kelly´s last blog post..They Say It’s Your Birthday!

  16. Alex Fayle says:

    Okay fine, I’ll spill. Yes, everyone gave me a mix, but each person had a main area…

    Support: Brett, Crista, Harry and Naomi
    Laughter: James the Dancing Geek and the Urban Panther (with names like that how could they not make me laugh? 😉 )
    Thought-Provoking: Elaine & Kelly
    Ass-Kicking: James the MwP (but we all knew that, right?)

    Happy now, James?

  17. Heheh, yes, yes I am.

    So basically, if anyone wants a pat on the back, some smiles and a moment of “I never thought of that…”

    Don’t come see me. All you’ll get is a good swift kick in the pants.

    😉

    James Chartrand – Men with Pens´s last blog post..Interview with Pen Man #3: Charlie Pabst Goes Naked

  18. Alex Fayle says:

    Now, now, you’re also very good at the rest, but you use all those things to do the pants-kicking…

  19. I know what you mean about feeling like you take too many vacations. I feel that way too sometimes, mostly when it’s time to do some household improvements. 🙂

    Jamie Grove – How Not To Write´s last blog post..How to Use Your Excuses to Fuel Your Writing: A NaNoWriMo Profile

  20. Alex Fayle says:

    @Jamie:

    Is that a “someday” I hear you talking about Jamie? Maybe we need to do some work together… 😉

  21. LOL. Actually, it’s not a Someday. It’s this Thursday. I’m installing a bathroom fan. 🙂

  22. […] my own Someday Relapse. When I was feeling stuck and lost, who did I turn to? Did I go to people who said: […]

  23. What’s the opposite of Someday Syndrome?

    Whatever it is, I have it. Or at least that’s what it feels like sometimes. You know, you wake up with thirty new ideas and you have to at least get started with every one of them TODAY!

    Point me at the coffee, honey, and then get out of my way because I’m going to be charging around here at two hundred miles per hour!

    But there are some things I keep putting off. Mostly it’s stuff I’m just not sure about – it keeps bubbling up to the top of my brain but I look at it and say “Yeah, but…” and it gets put away again. Maybe that’s Someday Syndrome or maybe it’s that the ideas really haven’t gelled yet – and maybe never will.

    Anyway, glad I found you (through a comment at MWP this morning that I referenced in one of my own posts!). Interesting concept; I’ll be back.

    Anthony Lawrence´s last blog post..What I want in my next GPS by Anthony Lawrence

  24. Alex Fayle says:

    @Anthony
    That’s the Tigger Method. I’m prone to that as well. The question is do you complete them? If you have then you’ve harnessed your inner Tigger and put his energy to good use. I still often let Tigger bounce off in the next direction before finishing what’s in front of me.

    For the stuff you’re putting off, I’d ask: how much do you really want to do them? If you keep putting them off, then I’d say given your general enthusiasm for projects, they are likely things that don’t really interest you. So why not just let them go or delegate them to someone else (including paying for someone else to do them)?

    Glad to have you on the blog here! I very much enjoyed your contributions to the conversation at MwP yesterday.

  25. @ Anthony/Alex – For you:

    http://www.copyblogger.com/productivity-brain-drain/

    @ Alex – I really, really enjoyed that Tigger analogy you mentioned on another post. I think that’ll help others understand what’s going on.

    James Chartrand – Men with Pens´s last blog post..Have You Taken Your Product for a Test Drive?

  26. I think the stuff that never gets done keeps bubbling up because there’s a germ of an idea in there somewhere but I just haven’t yet found the right expression. I’ve had things like that percolate for years and then finally be ready to work on. Other stuff.. well, it’s still waiting its turn,

    Anthony Lawrence´s last blog post..What I want in my next GPS by Anthony Lawrence

  27. Alex Fayle says:

    @James
    Thanks for the link – as for Tigger – that’s a guest post for another blog that I’m working on, but I often use Tigger as an analogy for things.

    @Anthony
    Good distinction and good for you for being able to articulate it so well!

Comments are closed.

