Another step in the Someday Journey: Getting paid to write

Today marks the official launch of a new Crowd Fusion property: Super Eco, where I’m one of the contributors.

I joined the Super Eco team back in December and since the first of January I’ve added to the team’s efforts in building a site dedicated to addressing and presenting environmental concerns and information.

To those who only know me as the Someday Guru, this might seem a bit of a stretch, but I come from a very green family. We’ve been recycling since the early 1970s. My mother’s had a large vegetable garden since the mid 1970s and in 1974 worked in an energy conservation clinic. My parents were advocates for properly insulated homes (while maintaining good design sense), and always taught us to be relatively anti-consumerist – buying something good once instead of something cheap many times.

This attitude towards life led me to become a Professional Organizer, helping people clear out their clutter and their unnecessary stuff and then teaching them how to live without buying more.

To me the most important part of the 3Rs is the first one: reduce. Reuse and recycle come a distant second and third. The articles I write Super Eco focus on reducing consumption and waste – getting people to be aware of what they buy, why they buy it and how to use it in a way that’s not wasteful.

Besides what I write, the site includes

The Super Eco team has even begun a few comparators that compare key bits of information about things you may purchase all the time, like shampoo, from an environmentally conscious perspective.

Take a look around and don’t forget to say “Hi” in the comments!

Tagged , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Another step in the Someday Journey: Getting paid to write

  1. Karen Putz says:

    Congrats, Alex! You’ll rock with your writing over there!

    Karen Putz´s last blog post..Win a Book from Mark Drolsbaugh, A Talented Deaf Writer

  2. Wow! It’s great to meet somebody else whose parents were environmentalists back in the 70s. My parents were self-sufficient when I was born. Woo!

    Brilliant stuff! I’m so pleased that you’ve taken this next step on your journey.

    J xx

    Joely Black (@TheCharmQuark on Twitter)´s last blog post..The one with the “Arrrgh!” and the “Whoa!” and the “Waaaaaay!”

  3. Anna says:

    Congratulations on getting paid to write, and what a great writing job it is too, I shall definitely take a look.

    Anna 🙂

  4. Kelly says:

    Alex,

    What an exciting new gig! I flipped all through the site. Looks, relevance, and some of my favorite brains. Wow!

    Congratulations. I hope it takes off.

    Regards,

    Kelly

    Kelly´s last blog post..Why You Should Create a Tribal Language

  5. […] you got an Alex Update, so today you get a […]

  6. Booya! Well done, Alex. Plus, I’m loving seeing this side of you too.

    James | Dancing Geek´s last blog post..10 days offline

  7. Alex Fayle says:

    @Everyone
    Thanks for the support. I’m totally loving the gig and the rest of the team at SuperEco rocks as well. I’m learning so much.

  8. Congratulations Alex. Like you we’ve been recycling forever and composting since before anyone knew what it meant!

    Carolyn Caldwell´s last blog post..Client Questions – Am I Alone?

  9. Alex Fayle says:

    @Carolyn
    Yes, when I was six, my job was to wash out the cans and flatten them. The catfood tins always made me squirm…

Comments are closed.

