This isn’t what I want: Hunter Nuttall Interview

I love the attitude of this week’s interview subject. His blog’s tagline is Stop Sucking and Live a Life of Abundance. With a kick-ass line like that of course I had to find out whether Hunter ever lived a sucky abundance-free life.

Who: Hunter Nuttall of HunterNuttall.com
Hunter is a guy who thinks life can be better than we’ve been led to believe, and he’s on a quest to stop sucking and live a life of abundance.

Name one moment in your life when you threw a pity party for yourself and the reasons why you felt you weren’t able to achieve your goals. Were you feeling stuck? Had you felt you failed? What wasn’t working in your life?
The nice thing about pity parties is that at the end of the night, the party’s over. But I seem to be taking a multi-year cruise on the S.S. Pity Party, where the party never ends.

I try to stay on the side of the ship where all the positive passengers hang out. I don’t like being around people who say “I’m not supposed to be on this ship. This isn’t fair. I’m going to complain to somebody.” I’d much rather be around people who say “I’m not supposed to be on this ship, but I know I’m the only one who can get myself off it. So while I may not be thrilled with my time here, I’m going to keep working on my plan to get off.”

Specifically, what I feel stuck in is the work force. After having several different jobs over the last ten years, I’m pretty sure that I’m just not cut out to be an employee. I don’t really have a problem with developing software, but I don’t like being paid for punching a time card, I don’t like having limited control over my work, I don’t like dressing up or commuting, and I don’t like having to work on a fixed schedule. So I’m trying to find a way out.

That’s what’s not working for me, but as long as I keep trying to fix it, I haven’t failed yet.

Even our lowest moments fulfill a need in us or express our desires. When you threw yourself that pity party, what did you hope to gain? What need did you fulfill?
I disagree with all the people who say we should strive to be happy all the time, regardless of our circumstances. If something’s not working for you, be honest with yourself, and work on fixing it. Trying to drown your troubles in happiness actually isn’t much healthier than trying to drown them in alcohol.

Don’t get me wrong, most people are more negative than they should be, and certainly we should generally try to look on the bright side of things. But acknowledging our real feelings instead of putting on a front makes us human. If you’re perfectly happy with everything no matter what happens, then why even bother getting out of bed in the morning?

By having a pity party now and then, you’re giving yourself permission to say, “This isn’t what I want. Something’s wrong, and I need to fix it.” Nothing wrong with that, but the problem many people have is staying at the pity party too long, not facing the responsibility of getting themselves out.

Tell us what you did to break up the pity party. What actions did you decide to take? Did someone help you buoy your spirits? Push you along?
The last company I worked at warned us that they would in all likelihood go out of business. While everyone frantically looked for whatever job they could find, I decided that I needed to take a mini-retirement. It’s such a dumb system we have, where you spend the best years of your life working and then maybe you get to retire just in time to die.

So I took four months off, and it was amazing. I was still working, but I was working on writing blog posts and ebooks and researching different paths I could take. I was having fun with my work, and also taking time to enjoy my life.

I haven’t been able to nail down a specific plan for sustaining this indefinitely, although I’ve been doing much better with affiliate marketing lately. I can see my online income paying the bills someday, and that’s what I really need. Moral support is nice, but I’m more interested in fixing the problem than in getting people to be my cheerleader.

Can you look back on that moment and tell us how you felt when you did decide to take action? What results came about from your decision to take charge and move on?
The biggest risk I took was making the financially stupid decision of taking four months off work. I was uncomfortable with that decision because I’m well aware of how much it will cost me in the long run. Plus, I had no health insurance. (I’m going back to work on Monday, so I just have to stay out of danger until then.)

The only reason I could do that was because I’ve always kept my expenses fairly low and built up some savings, instead of trying to keep up with the Joneses. That’s because security has always been a priority for me. Sure, I’d like to have nice things, but I won’t go into debt for them.

Even though this retirement stint was temporary, I’ve learned that working from home on my own thing is definitely what I want to do. For now, I have to go back to work on Monday, but that’s going to be much easier to do after having had this time off.

Everyone has a Someday problem hiding deep inside, even little ones. What variety of the Someday Syndrome do you currently harbor? What would you like to achieve but haven’t yet?
I’m mainly affected by the “Someday My Ship Will Come In” variety. My mind is definitely more in the future than the present. I have no doubt the future will be terrific, but to improve things in the present I need to figure out how to make money without a job.

Examining your Someday Syndrome problem, what are you currently doing to resolve it and eliminate it from your life?
I mentioned before that I’ve been doing better with affiliate marketing lately. I want to keep growing my audience by getting better at providing content they crave. At the same time, I plan to learn more about copywriting and sales so I can better connect my audience with the affiliate offers they need.

My goal is to combine the best aspects of blogging and internet marketing, making a good living while also doing something that makes a difference in people’s lives.

Many people suffer the same problems you do. You’re not alone, and neither are they. What would you tell people in your situation right now to help them avoid what you’re going through?
This is the question I’m always thinking about. I don’t have a good answer yet, but if they subscribe to my blog, maybe we can figure it out together.

If you could ask for one thing, right now, to help you overcome your Someday Syndrome, what type of help would you ask for?
The biggest thing I struggle with is being unsure of what to do, and constantly shifting my focus between different things while I try to figure out the right direction to head in.

So I think what could help the most is a mentor who could tell me exactly what to do to achieve financial independence as quickly as possible. For example, “Call this number. This guy is looking for .NET and SQL Server developers for a long term contract, they pay $150 an hour, and you can work as many hours as you want. This is the easiest way, so just focus on that, and drop everything else.” Then I could just do that for a while, and then be free to do whatever I want.

But I think a mentor like that would be really hard to come by. Something more realistic that could help me would be an A-list affiliate for either of my ebooks: “The Personality Puzzle” and “Greatness Without Genies.” They haven’t reached enough of the people who need them yet, but someone with a big mailing list could change that and bring a lot more people into my tribe.

Tagged , , , ,

18 thoughts on “This isn’t what I want: Hunter Nuttall Interview

  1. Great stuff, and I like much of what you said, Hunter, such as the part about steeping yourself in happy-happy is about as smart as drinking all day long to cure your woes.

    Hey! Happy return to work!

    James Chartrand – Men with Pens´s last blog post..How to Plan a Freelancer Vacation So You Can Refuel

  2. @ Alex, thanks for posting this. I noticed I’m the first interviewee to get the tag “suckiness.” There’s something pretty funny about that. 🙂 I’ll come back in the evening to reply to comments. BTW, it’s “Nuttall,” another one of those names like “Ferriss” that no one ever gets right!

    @ James, as I was writing that part, I was thinking “Why am I writing this? No one’s going to agree with me!” Glad at least one person did! I’ve actually been back at work for three weeks now. Speaking of which – gotta go, be back later.

    Hunter Nuttall´s last blog post..Mixed Handedness: Bridging The Gap Between Left And Right

  3. […] Fayle has interviewed me as a part of his Someday Syndrome interview series. Alex is a guy who helps you sort out your life, figure out the stuff you don’t need, […]

  4. Alex Fayle says:

    @James
    Yes, I love that point and in fact will be giving my own take on it tomorrow.

    @Hunter
    Sorry about that – all Nuttall’s edited – I’m getting Spanish every day and never doubling letters any more 😉

    As for being the first person to be tagged with suckiness it’s because you’re the first person who’s really embraced it as a part of life.

  5. Craig Stansbury says:

    This comment is directed toward your statement “The biggest risk I took was making the financially stupid decision of taking four months off work”. Why do you consider this move to have been financially stupid when it gave you the time needed to determine a better career path? I can see how it was costly to your savings account, but wouldn’t this be considered a wise use of funds as opposed to spending it on junk or continuing with a career that is unsatisfying?
    Your clarification on this is important to me because I just took a huge leap (off a cliff maybe) and resigned a high paying and fully secure job without another in sight because I have been miserable way too many years and need time to explore new paths (unfortunate time for the economy to go in the toilet). I have no debt and the next 3-6+ months will eat a huge chunk out of my savings, but I have not been able to accomplish this while stuck in my current position every day. Your further input would be greatly appreciated.

  6. I’ve had the pleasure of knowing Hunter for a year now. I love his sense of humor and solid attitude to get things done. He is very personable and resourceful.

    I think he makes a great salesperson, or maybe he already is. His interview of my Akashic Record Reading certainly increased its exposure. There was no hard sell, but just the way he raises people’s curiosity and attention is wonderful.

    But I’m not sure about his mentor idea. That mentor sounds more like a slave master to me. And we are not slaves or order takers. We create our own lives.

    I hope he finds his path to self employment soon. I see a lot of changes in his attitude — he is def more decisive lately, which is great!

    Akemi – Yes to Me´s last blog post..The Law Of Attraction: How To Use It To Your Favor

  7. Hunter, I also agree with the “happy happy” comment. I used to work with someone who, when asked, “How are you today?” would always answer “Happy!” It was really creepy…

    Janet Barclay´s last blog post..Do You Know an Outstanding Virtual Assistant?

  8. Great interview. Good stuff, Hunter.

    I like this line:

    “I want to keep growing my audience by getting better at providing content they crave.”

    I like the relentless, humble and practical approach you have to blogging. That’s great.

    I’ve recently been exposed to Hunter’s blog and I think the content really stands out.

    Cheers,

    Bamboo Forest

  9. Patricia says:

    Very nice interview Hunter and I appreciated knowing more about you and your work. I have to everyday remind myself that this is the place I am supposed to be – right here in this moment. When I worry or look too far forward I can not focus on this time right now.

    I was so excited about writing my Wed. post this morning. I completely forgot that I have to write a Tuesday post for my honey’s blog and comment around to get his ideas out and about.

    Now I will have no time to work on my book today – I did not focus on what I needed to do right now.

    I am probably the slowest blogger on the planet – you helped me get on twitter – it still took me 13 tries to get my paypal account set up correctly.

    I am in the right place right now…I am learning something new and building on all the paths I have taken previously.

    I cleaned a lot of houses/toilets over the years to work my “career” work as a volunteer and eat. You are so fortunate to have a stop gap position with health ins. You are learning some lesson you will need tomorrow…

    Thank you for the good interview

    Patricia´s last blog post..Someone’s in The Kitchen With Patricia

  10. @ Craig, by “financially stupid,” I just meant that it was stupid from a purely financial perspective, though smart in other ways.

    Not working is extremely costly, especially when you consider that you’re not just losing the money you would have been paid, but you’re losing all the compounded earnings on that money too. And going without health insurance is a huge risk.

    On the other hand, you could say that staying with a job you don’t like is stupid in other ways (and it is). I’d say that after considering all the pros and cons, if you think that resigning was the right thing to do, then you made the right choice.

    @ Akemi, thanks, I’m glad you found knowing me to be a pleasure and not a misfortune. 🙂 And I’m glad you got some Akashic record reading clients from our interview.

    How is a mentor like a slave master? What’s wrong with asking about shortcuts, instead of learning everything the hard way? It seems to me that we can best create our own lives by getting help where we can.

    @ Janet, you should have hit him and said “How are you now?” 🙂

    @ Bamboo, I’ve been asked a few times to come up with three words to describe myself. Next time I can say “relentless, humble, and practical,” and know that someone will find that accurate!

    @ Patricia, I like your positive and persistent attitude. Most people would have given up on PayPal long before 13 tries! Let’s all keep learning something new every day.

    Hunter Nuttall´s last blog post..Someday Syndrome Interview

  11. Re: Trying to drown your troubles in happiness

    What an interesting statement. And I do agree with it, if happiness is all very Pollyanna-ish. There is absolutely nothing wrong with wallowing in the mud, and acknowledging that sometimes life sucks, sometimes life is great, and quite often life is simply mundane. They are all normal aspects of existence.

    If the life sucks part is temporary, then just ride it out, and go ahead and grumble for a bit. If it is long term, then yep, for sure you need to do something about it.

    Urban Panther´s last blog post..The Lair has a new look

  12. Hunter,
    I like the idea of mentor. It’s just the quote sounds more like directions rather than guidance. Or maybe what you are looking for is good connections to expand your business — that, I understand and would want for myself, too.

    Akemi – Yes to Me´s last blog post..Spirituality Is About Anything And Everything In Life

  13. @ Urban Mountain Lion, I don’t think I’ve ever seen Pollyanna, but I know what you mean. Just like we go through all four seasons (where most of us live, anyway), we shouldn’t resist going through different moods.

    @ Akemi, I guess that was a hypothetical example of the voice of God, or something like that. If someone really has the answer, it’s worth listening closely. But in reality, everyone is different, truth is subjective, and you can’t blindly listen to anyone. Do spirit guides provide business connections, or is that too earthly for them?

    Hunter Nuttall´s last blog post..Someday Syndrome Interview

  14. Hunter,

    Spirit guides have chosen to work for us in the physical, so I don’t think anything is too low or earthly. However, remember they work for our highest good, not necessarily to please our ego-based needs? If they think it leads to your growth, they may give you business connections, and how clearly you get their message is up to you — they use your existing frame of reference.

    But be warned that is not always the case. My spirit guides tell me to “lose it” lately — to work less, let go what or who don’t match me any longer, etc. Now this is hard especially that I don’t work all that hard anyway, especially compared to those respectable men like Alex or James.

    Hope this makes sense. I’m currently working on some posts about how darkworkers have manipulated the world, so I may be a bit sensitive to bossy sounding quotes . . . 😉

    Akemi – Yes to Me´s last blog post..Spirituality Is About Anything And Everything In Life

  15. […] yesterday’s Someday Interview, Hunter Nuttall compared drowning in happiness to drinking ourselves into a stupor every day. I […]

  16. Debbi says:

    The mentor thing – I’m actually so happy to hear Hunter honestly express his need for that. It’s incredibly common, I’ve found…

    I’m very similar and have found many people just like me. Like Hunter, I hated the corporate workplace, and finally found my way out after 25 years. But, even though I have found great success in a short period of time, I find myself wanting the thing I absolutely hated – a BOSS!

    The hardest part of being self employed is that nobody has expectations of you – and as humans, we crave that structure, even though we hate it and resent it most of the time. We crave collaboration, as well, and being solo means I have nobody to help guide me.

    It’s like jumping out of an airplane without a parachute. And sometimes, we get so afraid of making a wrong decision, or so panicked about not choosing the right path, that we develop inertia, and don’t do half of what we really should have done.

    I finally reached my goal, and some days, I feel like I work for 12 hours but got nothing done. I’m always torn between the tasks of running my own business, and wanting someone else to tell me what I should be doing.

    I feel it, Hunter. We all do – being self employed is definitely not perfect, but at least you know yourself, and that is one of the most critical aspects of being solo – one must really know who they are, and enjoy the company – all day long! I loved the Someday interview – I will definitely pledge to get out of the future more and into the present!

  17. Evelyn Lim says:

    Hunter, it’s great that you took the leap of faith to take a four-month break. I can certainly understand how difficult it must have been to move into a financially insecure position.

    Late last year, I ran into my old friend from the financial industry. He told me that he had some “bad” news to share in that that he had just gotten retrenched. Since to my knowledge he had no huge commitments and he was a single, my response was “great, now you can take a year’s break to travel round the world or do something you like”.

    Well, my friend did not like my suggestion one bit. He said that he could not go away because he needed to hang around and try to find a job back into a bank. Up till today, he has not found one. I am not sure if he has been making use of the time fully either to look into what he really likes to do.

    Over-worrying can also play a part in manifesting for a suitable job. So I am glad that you didn’t have that. You spent your four months well and are now going back to full time employment.

    Evelyn Lim´s last blog post..How To Ground Yourself In 7 Ways

  18. Alex Fayle says:

    @Craig
    Good for you for taking the leap. I’m glad Hunter clarified things for you – if not I would have said the same, that from a traditional point of view, yes taking time off and using savings to live is a financially stupid decision, but in Hunter’s case (and yours), it was probably the smartest thing to do.

    @Akemi
    I agree that Hunter makes a great sales person. I love the way he approaches the personal development topic. It’s fresh and I think has a great positive impact.

    @Janet
    Those people are always kind of creepy, aren’t they. You wonder what will happen when the snap…

    @Bamboo
    I agree completely with you – the best three words to describe Hunter’s blog are these: relentless, humble and practical . Nicely put!

    @Patricia
    I too took a long time to get PayPal to work the way I wanted it to. And I also tend to slide into the future, forgetting about the moment. It gets me into more trouble, you can’t imagine! 😉

    @Hunter
    Thanks for jumping in and responding! Nicely done!

    @UP
    How can others tell you’re my sister? Um just look at my Tuesday post to see your exact viewpoint put in my words…

    @Debbi
    I couldn’t agree more – we crave external validation and without the boss/parent saying ‘good boy/girl’ we feel kind of lost. I’ve learned over the nearly six years of being 9-5 free that I can find validation from within, but I do find myself mentors, definitely. And they help me in so many ways.

    @Evelyn
    I love the idea of a sabbatical. I took one for 18 months and it was awesome. The hard part of course was going back to earning. I’m much happier puttering about. 😉 And that’s too bad about your friend. Sounds like he would have been better off to go traveling, eh?

Comments are closed.

