Checking in with my Somedays

  • Someday Lesson: If we don’t run a spot check every once in a while things can start breaking down and we suddenly find ourselves in the middle of nowhere with an engine that refuses to start.

Here is a six-point Someday check list:

  1. What’s my Someday?
  2. When do I want to complete it?
  3. What are the big steps to get there?
  4. What am I doing right now to move things forward?
  5. How much progress have I made since starting?
  6. Anything missing?

It’s been a while since I’ve catalogued my own Somedays and examined where I’m at with them, so here goes. I have three Somedays. And guess what? I’m doing really well (except in my food choices, but hey, perfection is overrated 😉 ).

Someday Number One: Fiction Writing

1.    What’s my Someday?

  • Becoming a published fiction writer with a book a year coming out.

2.    When do I want to complete it?

  • By 2026 (started in 2006 with a twenty-year plan).

3.    What are the big steps to get there?

  • (((write something)edit + submit)repeat)repeat=success

4.    What am I doing right now to move things forward?

  • Submitting finished novel
  • Writing a second novel
  • Writing a short story
  • Taking writing workshops

5.    How much progress have I made since starting?

  • Published two short stories
  • Wrote a novel
  • Novel has reached quarterfinals in a contest

6.    Anything missing?

  • Sometimes I let my fiction suffer due to outside pressure. I want to develop an attitude that fiction almost always takes priority. Exception being the basic need to eat comes first.

Someday Number Two: Someday Mentoring

1.    What’s my Someday?

  • A full roster of clients supporting my lifestyle and funding my retirement

2.    When do I want to complete it?

  • As soon as possible, but realistically by March 2010 (started August 2008)

3.    What are the big steps to get there?

  • Build reputation
  • Develop and set up services
  • Market, market and market some more

4.    What am I doing right now to move things forward?

  • Providing tester services to tweak the systems I’ve developed
  • Editing ebook
  • Marketing in soft ways (virtual networking)

5.    How much progress have I made since starting?

  • Reputation continues to grow
  • Developed services and launched them
  • Almost ready to launch first ebook

6.    Anything missing?

  • Hard marketing, but I am looking into something to solve this challenge

Someday Number Three: Fitness / Health

1.    What’s my Someday?

  • To run a 20K race in November 2009 & to not experience food-related pain

2.    When do I want to complete it?

  • November 2009

3.    What are the big steps to get there?

  • Train physically
  • Improve my nutrition

4.    What am I doing right now to move things forward?

  • Running and walking roughly 30km a week
  • Beating myself up for eating poorly (not that progressive) 😉

5.    How much progress have I made since starting?

  • Went from not being able to run for more than 2 minutes without stopping to 7km in 40 minutes
  • Did a severe cleanse last year that achieved my ideal body weight but it was too severe to maintain

6.    Anything missing?

  • Willpower to not eat wheat, sugar, fried foods.

Your turn – how well are your Somedays moving along?

P.S. And because life isn’t all about work, we’re off to see Fangoria and Las Nancys Rubias tonight in Bilbao.

Tagged , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Checking in with my Somedays

  1. Melinda says:

    Didn’t someone tell me earlier today to ditch the guilt? Hmmmmm? 😉 The guilt’s just going to make it harder to eat the right foods and avoid the bad. Sounds like you’re making a lot of progress though.

    I’ll look forward to seeing your books when they come out!

    Melinda´s last blog post..Business Practices that Make you Look Bad

  2. The fact that you know exactly what you want to achieve, and when, is VERY impressive!

    SOMEDAY I will complete the Someday Syndrome Interview Questions, then maybe I can work on the Someday Checklist!

    Janet Barclay´s last blog post..The Great Debate: Should you post your rates on your website?

  3. Andy Hayes says:

    I never cease to be amazed at how you really put yourself out there, Alex. Well done for the team effort. I’m afraid I’ve not even catalogued my Somedays, let alone gone into such detail with a plan of action!

    Bravo.

    Andy Hayes´s last blog post..My Travel Community and Photos from Davenburgh

  4. Alex Fayle says:

    @Melinda
    Umm… do as I say not as I do? 😉 You’re right though – guilt only produces more self-destructive behaviour.

    @Janet
    Everyone has their own way of measuring their personal progress. I’m certain that although you haven’t done something like this Someday Check-in, you have a good idea where you are goal-wise.

    @Andy
    Thanks! I’ve always been a lead by example type. If I’m not willing to put myself out there, who will trust me to get rid of their somedays?

  5. Melinda says:

    LOL Alex! I’m guilty of that with my clients too sometimes.

    Melinda´s last blog post..One of the Joys of Working at Home

  6. I have a general idea, but I think a more detailed plan would be very helpful. (Need a PLAN to reach the GOALS to fulfill the DREAMS)

    Janet Barclay´s last blog post..Dreams and Goals

  7. Is avoiding foods with wheat, sugar, and fried foods a critical element of healthy eating for you? How about moderation? Maybe you could allow yourself “ration tickets” for such indulgences, and then play a game to see how many you can save up without cashing them in. (Finding the right mind game for your purposes can work wonders.)

    For me, it works better to focus on eating healthy choices (preferable planned in advance) than to focus on food avoidance. Also, when I eat healthier, I tend to have fewer cravings for less nutritious foods.

    Here are two of my favorite techniques for

    1) eating more fruit

    http://denisefisher.wordpress.com/2009/02/07/visual-guide-to-eating-more-fruit/

    and

    2) eating more salads

    http://denisefisher.wordpress.com/2009/03/04/7-salads-for-7-days/

    Both with colorful, fresh produce photos.

    Denise Fisher´s last blog post..Wardrobe Organization By The Numbers – The 28-Outfit Seasonal Collection

  8. Alex Fayle says:

    @Denise
    Thanks for the links. Yes, the sugar and wheat avoiding is critical to my health. When I eat them, I build up yeast in my system which then leads to low energy, pain, and brain fog (as well as weight). The fried foods are more of a moderation thing based on wanting to lose weight and not enjoying the acid reflux too much fried stuff gives me.

  9. […] few weeks back I checked in with my Somedays, seeing how I’m doing with each of them. This week I got the Lab Rats to do the same. (And […]

Comments are closed.

