Patience Rewards the Dedicated: Tara Swiger Interview

One thing many people (myself included) forget about achieving happiness is to have patience. Fortunately this week’s interview with Tara Swiger offers a great reminder of just how long it takes to achieve our goals, but how awesome we feel when we do.

Who: Tara Swiger of Blonde Chicken Boutique
Tara is a yarn-maker who loves sharing local, sustainable fibers that inspire creativity.

Tara SwigerName one moment in your life when you threw a pity party for yourself and the reasons why you felt you weren’t able to achieve your goals. Were you feeling stuck? Had you felt you failed? What wasn’t working in your life?
Before I started the business, I moved and couldn’t find a job that fulfilled my creativity. Months went by and there was little hope for having any career other than secretary. I found that working with yarn, knitting and spinning, and connecting with other knitters online made everything a little brighter.

Even our lowest moments fulfill a need in us or express our desires. When you threw yourself that pity party, what did you hope to gain? What need did you fulfill?
I needed to recognize that the outside world wasn’t going to provide me with an awesome job. My talents and interests are varied and they couldn’t fit in any institution. By accepting this, I accepted that I needed to make my OWN job, one where I could explore creativity and business and fun.

Tell us what you did to break up the pity party. What actions did you decide to take? Did someone help you buoy your spirits? Push you along?
I kept knitting and spinning. I started talking to everyone about it. I learned that my thing, my yarn and my vision, was something I could contribute to the world. It was a bunch of little, tiny actions, that led to me selling the yarn.

Can you look back on that moment and tell us how you felt when you did decide to take action? What results came about from your decision to take charge and move on?
The actions were so small and slow, that there wasn’t one big YAY moment until 3 years after my business began, when I realized I could quit my dayjob.

Everyone has a Someday problem hiding deep inside, even little ones. What variety of the Someday Syndrome do you currently harbor? What would you like to achieve but haven’t yet?
I’d like to take local fleeces and have them (without chemicals) millspun into a yarn that I’d dye. Whenever I start to work on this, it all seems a bit overwhelming

Examining your Someday Syndrome problem, what are you currently doing to resolve it and eliminate it from your life?
I’m meeting more local farmers and learning about the milling process, researching mills that process wool without chemicals. I’m also working on being OK with the big-ness of it.

Many people suffer the same problems you do. You’re not alone, and neither are they. What would you tell people in your situation right now to help them avoid what you’re going through?
Oh, I’m not sure I’d want to avoid any part of the path. My advice is to try new things. Throw out the stuff that doesn’t work and then try something new.

If you could ask for one thing, right now, to help you overcome your Someday Syndrome, what type of help would you ask for?
Patience. I’ve built everything in tiny steps and when big challenges/ideas occur, I need patience to remember to keep taking tiny steps.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Patience Rewards the Dedicated: Tara Swiger Interview

  1. […] I’m interviewed on the Someday Syndrome, which is a website dedicated to helping you move past the “somedays” we all have. […]

Comments are closed.

