Creating Space for Your Dreams

  • Someday Lesson: If your physical space is chaotic, how can you possible expect to find the clear path through to your dreams?

Organizing Connection: Turn cluttered nightmares into sweet dreamsAs we come to the end of Self-Improvement month, I have a question for you.

How’s your physical clutter?

Normally on Someday Syndrome we deal with emotional and mental clutter, but occasionally I like to take a look at the physical blocks to our dreams. And taking that literally I want to know: how’s your bedroom?

Can you see the floor? Do your clothes pile up on chairs and in baskets but never seem to make it into closets and drawers? Do you have clothes you’ve bought but have yet to wear?

What about non-bedroom stuff – books, toys, newspapers, stuff for work?

Our inner and outer worlds are highly linked. If you have a disorderly and chaotic bedroom, how can you expect to have a calm sleep? And if you can’t have that calm sleep your emotional and mental clutter will build and build until you’re just getting by each day.

We store our dreams in our bedrooms. Think about that moment just before you fall asleep or just before you wake up each day, when everything is full of possibility. Are you stressed or do you greet sleep and waking with enthusiasm? If you go to bed and wake up stressed, there’s a good chance that stress has a physical cause.

Fortunately it’s an easy and inexpensive fix!

Last year, I had the privilege of writing the scripts for a series of organizing videos and worksheets put together by Kim Eagles and Elaine Shannon of The Organizing Connection and this month they’ve just released Organizing The Bedroom: From Cluttered Nightmares to Sweet Dreams.

If you know deep in your heart that this is the day to take back control of your home, become more organized, and live the life of your choice and not one where you just ‘survive’ each day, then you’re going to want the CLUTTER CODE Six Step Organizing System™ available exclusively from Organizing Connection. To get you started the #1 Secret to Organizing your Closet will be revealed, a secret that will change how you think about your closet.

Usually I don’t recommend people looking to get organized to go buy organizing tools like books because they often just become clutter themselves. However, this tool by the incredibly dynamic dual includes a funny and information-packed video that includes – yes seriously – the Closet Hokey Pokey! So you don’t just read about organizing – you get to see it happen and get the tools to do so step by step.

In the From Cluttered Nightmares to Sweet Dreams video you will learn:

  1. How the #1 Secret to organizing your closet can help with the whole room.
  2. How you can break this mountain of a job into bite sized pieces.
  3. How to do the aforementioned Closet Hokey Pokey, a fun way to remember how to maintain the closet organization.
  4. Some end of the day strategies that will save valuable time in the morning.
  5. The emotional side of organizing, including how to let go – using hangers!

Plus you will receive the special companion ebook to help give you more concrete steps to conquering the bedroom and closet clutter! In this ebook you will learn more about…

  1. Paying it forward: how the clutter in your closets could be someone’s survival
  2. Organizing through transitions: what do you do when a new baby arrives or the season changes.
  3. Feng Shui and why the bed placement is so important

And to keep you on track, there are 11 pages of worksheets that can guide you every step of the way. Once you see how far you’ve progressed from having a bedroom that resembles the floor after a department store sale to one that is totally organized, completely functional AND a joy to be in, you’ll want to keep this room from ever lapsing into chaotic clutterland again

All for only $29.99 USD. That’s like a fraction of the hourly cost of having an organizer on site with you – and you get to watch it over and over until the principles explained in the video become second nature for you.

Oh, and I almost forgot to mention the bonuses that you get with the video and worksheets, including something from Someday Syndrome (your own personal Dream Factory).

So, what are you waiting for? Go visit Organizing Connection and start freeing up the space to dream and dream big!

P.S. Yes, I am an affiliate of this product, so if you buy it you will help me bust some of my own (financial) Somedays.

P.P.S. Speaking of following dreams, I recently had a short story published on the website Aurora Wolf. The story is called A Home Invasion and is a humorous look at what happens when a collective of pixies decide they want to help.

Tagged , ,

8 thoughts on “Creating Space for Your Dreams

  1. LOVE this post! I love dreams, love organizing… It’s perfect!
    .-= Positively Present´s last blog ..the filmstrip: a new way to look at presence =-.

  2. Hi Alex,

    You’ve touched on a favorite topic of mine – decluttering and how it can affect us. We do hear a lot about mental clutter, however I find it’s when I reduce physical clutter, the mental clutter magically begins to lessen.

    Congratulations on the publication of your short story. It sounds like a fun read.
    .-= Barbara Swafford´s last blog ..Blogging Etiquette – Write The Wrongs =-.

  3. Andy Hayes says:

    Cute branding! 🙂 Love it.
    .-= Andy Hayes´s last blog ..So, You Want to be a Travel Writer? =-.

  4. Alex Fayle says:

    @Positively Present & @Barbara
    Yes, the two go hand in hand – after writing this piece yesterday I reorganized our storage area and felt a huge stress I didn’t realize I was carrying lift.

    @Andy
    Yes, it is very cute branding, isn’t it?

  5. I’m so bad at organizing my physical space. I often feel like “it doesn’t matter” or it’s the last thing I need to get to. But I can see how it is all interrelated – if I want to create space in my life for my creative projects, work, friends, the physical space DOES matter. Thank you for the tips here too – I need them!
    .-= Laura – The Journal of Cultural Conversation´s last blog ..DC: Capital of Cool? =-.

  6. Mary says:

    I don’t think I agree with this. Hotels are spotless and I can’t sleep in them, and I sleep just fine in my messy bedroom. The key is that I only notice what I care about, and I only care about my books and workspaces. I don’t “see” clothes or shoes or bottles – they don’t exist to me. The peeling paint in a ceiling and my lawn don’t exist either – just aren’t important enough to be noticed and take up any time.

  7. Alex Fayle says:

    @Laura
    Glad to make the connection for you! When I’m feeling chaotic, the best way to calm down is to physically organize.

    @Mary
    Hotel rooms are not lived-in space and are intentionally impersonal. Being organized does not mean being impersonal. I have things in my apartment that are highly person and completely without function, but I love them. I also have a chair in the bedroom that collects clothes. While it’s not very organized, it does keep the clothes off the floor and when I do want to organize, it’s easily done because the chaos is contained to a single chair.

    That being said, everyone has their own sense of “good enough” – for Bree Hodge from Desperate Housewives all the details of personal appearance matter, but to a contestant of The Amazing Race, these details are completely irrelevant.

    If your messy bedroom, clothes peeling pain and lawn don’t affect your ability to think clearly or get things done, then I wouldn’t call you disorganized. People are only disorganized when their clutter begins to affect their life.

Comments are closed.

