Getting Time on Your Side: The Creating Time Contest

October is National Clock month and what better way to kick it off than with a contest! But first, let’s take a look at an excerpt from the upcoming ebook I’ll Get Around To It Someday

  • Someday Lesson: The world may always spin at the same rate but we create or destroy time depending on how we use it.

mad hatter tea partyTime is money… Time is of the essence… Spending time… Wasting time… So little time to do so much…

We have so many phrases that talk about the preciousness of time. We worry that we don’t have enough time to do what we want to do and we spend too much time doing what we have to.

We end up looking around in amazement and saying “Where did the time go?” And we have done only half the things we need to do, a quarter of the things we want to do, and none of the things we dream of doing.

In Alice in Wonderland, the Mad Hatter says “If you only kept on good terms with him, he’d do almost anything you liked with the clock.”

Well, unfortunately, very few of us are on that good of terms with time and the clock does exactly what it wants.

In the age of multiple commitments to family and work, we find ourselves scrambling to accomplish anything.

Ever had those moments when time didn’t exist? When you were content with what you were doing and how much or how little time it involved didn’t matter? In those moments we own time, it’s ours. Creating time is about structuring your life so that you have more of those latter moments, and fewer speeding bullet, or dragged out periods.

How do we do that? Through choice and action. We all make choices and each choice has a consequence. We have control over our choices but rarely any influence on the consequences. Consequences that could eat up a lot of time we don’t have. We therefore need to make smart choices about how we spend our time.

Creating Time Contest

Before getting into the contest details, let’s start with the prize because honestly, the prize this month will totally bust through your time challenges.

How so?

Because this month, the winner of the Creating Time Contest will win time with me. That’s right. If you enter this month’s contest, you could win a month of email support from the world’s only Someday Mentor. We’ll figure out what blocks you have time-wise and by the end of the month you’ll have created enough time to get everything you want done.

Now that you’re all excited about the prize (seriously who wouldn’t be excited about winning something that’s worth $400?) let’s get to the details.

Tell me, either here in the comments or in an email, what you would do with the month of time mentoring. Give me your story of woe – let it all hang out and tell me why you desperately need to get your time organized.

Tagged , ,

13 thoughts on “Getting Time on Your Side: The Creating Time Contest

  1. Emma Newman says:

    I need to email you about this I think. Ironically, I’ve been trying to find the time to do this for about five hours now…
    .-= Emma Newman´s last blog ..The power of words and writing =-.

  2. I really want to be more creative. I want more time to make jewellery to sell and make my business work, I want time to practice journalling which will help my creativity and I want time to sew – both art textiles and clothes. I’ve been trying to work out for the past few days where all my time goes but I don’t think it’s time that’s the problem, it’s me! I’m too afraid of not being good enough that I stop myself from trying by putting petty tasks in the way. I’d really like to stop this distracting behaviour and actually achieve my potential.

  3. Alex Fayle says:

    @Emma
    Glad you found the time to email me! I received the email and it’s filed away in the contest folder until the end of the month when I pick the winner.

    @Kira
    Putting aside time for creativity is such a hard thing to commit to because we’re taught that creative pursuits aren’t “productive.” Thanks for entering the contest!

  4. AM says:

    I want to figure out how to squeeze more productivity out of my current schedule without my head exploding. Right now, I work 50+ hours a week at a stressful day job and still manage to work on my writing (not nearly as much as I’d like), run half marathons, and learn drums (again, not nearly as much as I’d like). My slow progress is frustrating me, yet I already feel so stretched, especially since I don’t allow myself much time for fun and doing nothing. I feel like something has to give if I’m going to make bigger strides. Maybe it’s time to reconsider the day job.

  5. Regarding “tell me why you desperately need to get your time organized.”

    I don’t think anybody can get their time organized. They can only organize the activities that they choose to do. Time is not something that can be managed or organized.

    That being said, I would like to get your perspective on how I could improve my activities to accomplish meaningful goals.
    .-= Ramesh Natarajan´s last blog ..Unix Sed Tutorial: How To Write to a File Using Sed =-.

  6. Wendy says:

    I desperately need to manage my time. I became an independant agent for a trucking company in January after getting permanently laidoff from another job (Yep, I live in Michigan.) This agency is my own little business where I am suppose to get my own customers, etc. I also am the team leader to a ministry at my church. This ministry requires me to keep my team members updated on all the happenings at our church of 2,000. Thirdly, I run the household….my husband being an over the road truck driver leaves many more households tasks for me to do. I should have plenty of time….I work from home, and only have 1 teenager at home, but I just can’t get myself to successfully do all of my tasks let alone one. I start off with the best of intentions. I read the blogs, books, and articles. I put it all together and then it all falls apart very quickly and I am left having wasted the day with little accomplished. Comsequently, I am left completing only the minimum, at the deadline and never excelling to reach my potential which further creates a domino effect. I just found your site last week. I have liked what I have read so far but I need help to control my case of “Someday Syndrome” rather than it controlling me.

  7. Vicki says:

    I think my main problem is helping out people on their projects and ending up too tired to write a decent sentence. I love to organize, promote and help my frends with ideas for their art or writing projects. Probably cause I like to share my ideas and be ‘the leader.’ I can’t seem to get out of the cycle. Or I get hooked on Twitter or some other fun Internet place. Or I start another blog just to see how the particular site works. Goodness, I have a lot of ways to not finish my novel or my other projects. The sad thing is I have 400 pages of my novel written. I alway seem to have time to start thngs but never have time to finish.
    “getting time on your side” has really helped me stop and think about my behavior.

  8. Alex Fayle says:

    @AM
    That is a tough schedule. And yes a stressful work life does make the rest of life more difficult!

    @Ramesh
    I guess it depends on your definition of time – that’s one of the challenges of language – what seems like the same word on the surface for different people has different meanings. It’s how misunderstandings arise so quickly.

    @Wendy
    Without having a clear goal, it’s easy to find oneself running in circles being busy without being productive. Your challenge is one that many people face. You have several things going so with even a slight bit of uncertainty somewhere and it can feel like it’s all falling apart.

    @Vicki
    Women especially are socialized to help others before helping themselves. Sometimes we need to get really selfish if we want our dreams to come true.

  9. Alex:

    I’m not entering the contest, but had to comment. I had to take three evaluations for my current college classes. The two that measured pitfalls that might get in my way?–time management and organizing! Do I know my faults or what?? I will overcome!

  10. I have always been good at the time thing, well maybe not always, probably since I became a mommy. However, lately with early am hockey and the 2 oldest ones doing a 6 am paper route my family has hijacked my 6-7am private time….and the thoughts of getting up earlier make me ill. I need some private time again…help!
    .-= ellaine shannon´s last blog ..H1N1, are you vaccinating your children? =-.

  11. Alex Fayle says:

    @Joyce
    Yay to self-awareness and to the desire for change! I’m sure you’ll overcome too. 😉

    @Elaine
    That’s a tough one! It’s not quite the same but with school back in, can you take a mid-morning private time? (ie not schedule appointments/clients?)

  12. Great idea, I am going to take the hour before the kids get home from school and go for a walk. Interesting I asked a friend to join me last week for the walk and i realize that I need an hour of undisturbed time….I guess I need to get quiet. Thanks for that gentle remnder.
    .-= ellaine shannon´s last blog ..H1N1, are you vaccinating your children? =-.

  13. Alex Fayle says:

    @Elaine
    Sounds like a good plan! I too need quiet time each day or I get super-cranky.

Comments are closed.

