Being Accountable: The Newest Lab Rats Enter the Maze

Magically Shift The Maze To Reach Your Goal by CarbonNYC (Flickr.com)Here in the Someday Lab, no one gets to rest. One set of Lab Rats finishes their maze and the next bunch lined themselves up at the entrance to a brand new maze, cleaning their whiskers with impatient swipes of paws across noses.

And just what’s in store for the new Lab Rats? What sort of maze have I developed for them?

They’re going to be running through the worksheets in the next ebook in the Someday Syndrome Cure series: I’ll Get Around To It Someday which launches at the end of this month.

Each week, the six of them (yes, that’s right – the Lab Rats have multiplied!) will provide me with one worksheet from the ebook and I’ll discuss in public their progress.

And now that the Lab Rats have made themselves all presentable with their nervous grooming, let’s introduce (a few of) them.

Johnny

Johnny has decided to tackle the problem of procrastination head-on. He has a passion for his profession, but a poor record of delivering on time. He’s currently searching for a new position and finds it difficult to keep motivated and the habit of procrastination has held him back from finding the job he wants.

Like many procrastinators, he’s a perfectionist, worries about looking stupid, and has a tendency to distract himself easily (hmmm… that sounds remarkably like me!)

He’s tired of half-finished projects and he wants to develop some good habits, not just for himself, but as a good example to his kids.

As with the last round of Lab Rats, Johnny figures with the blog readers watching his progress he won’t have an excuse for not moving forward. He also looks forward to the feedback of the other Lab Rats and the blog readers.

Helen

Helen led off her Lab Rat application with the following:

I think I would make a perfect Lab Rat because my life is close to perfect already I just want more of it…

At first, I thought: Helen doesn’t need me! but then I experienced a mental shift and thought Yes she does!

Someday Syndrome doesn’t just affect people who aren’t clear on their lives. Somedays aren’t just big looming scary objects blocking the entirety of our lives – they are also small things, little irritations that act like grains of sand in our shoes and making the long hike through life painful.

Helen signed up to be a Lab Rat for two reasons:

  1. To add another driver in her journey to achieving the life of her dreams
  2. She knew I wouldn’t let her say “I’m too busy to focus on me and my dreams”

She hopes to achieve a number of things – the key one is clarity. She lives a life that she adores and she is incredibly blessed with what she has, however she wants to live more. She has a lot of dreams and ambitions and some of them clash so she wants to gain a level of understanding and clarity that will lead to her to remove these clashes and really consolidate and create her dream life. She also hopes to create a habit out of focusing on herself.

Going public with her journey will also make her really open and honest about what she wants without worrying about what people will think – which has been a large past issue.

Michelle

The last of this week’s Lab Rats (the other three I’ll introduce next week), Michelle is in major need of pushing her procrastination block out of the way. In her own words:

I’ve been overweight for 8 years. I kept telling myself every year that I’d start losing weight but I kept finding “busy” things that kept tempting me to say “tomorrow.” For example, I was planning on going to the gym after work but got into a fender-bender before the end of the day. Well, I didn’t get hurt and my car is perfectly fixable yet I made the excuse to myself that I needed to get in touch with insurance (it only took about 10 minutes to talk with the claims department) so I’d have to wait another day to go to the gym. Wow, 10 minutes totally blocked me out, huh? Well, it’s two days later and I still haven’t made the effort! Procrastination, procrastination…pro-cras-tuh-nay-shun!

Michelle also feels that she has a book within her and after writing several drafts, she doesn’t have a finished product (not even close!). The Internet and Facebook distract her (I know that one!) and she’s tired of the weird looks she gets when she tells people that she hasn’t finished the book she so proudly announced that she was writing two years ago.

She’s joined the experiment to get a professional’s insight as to why she slows down when she’s highly motivated and put things off when she has more than enough time to get them done. She’s hoping to discover any self-sabotage (if any) and nip it in the bud! In addition to that, she hopes to learn the necessary steps to take to stop procrastination and reverting to the same old Michelle.

Doing all this publically means taking responsibility for her choices and being accountable for forward motion.

Tagged , , ,

8 thoughts on “Being Accountable: The Newest Lab Rats Enter the Maze

  1. Alessio says:

    Welcome, new Lab Rats! 😉
    Looking forward to following your journey! It’s going to be an awesome learning experience!

  2. What a great idea. Breaking other people’s problems down to help others. I know I’ll be following along.

    My procrastination usually comes when I’m trying to get a big project together. That’s typical. I just keep putting it off for a few more months and nothing gets done. Just like Michelle. I’ve gotten better but still have a long way to go.
    .-= Karl Staib – Work Happy Now´s last blog ..Office Dilemma – Clocking in a Co-worker =-.

  3. Alex Fayle says:

    @Alessio
    Thanks for the welcome and having just gone through the maze, I’m sure you’ll be able to offer advice along the way!

    @Karl
    The same thing happens to me, I fight it for a while, then get fed up with myself and just do it, always surprising myself how little time it actually takes once I start…

  4. carol says:

    interesting set of people you have there. can’t wait to hear their progress especially of Helen’s.
    .-= carol´s last blog ..Singles Find the Power in Appreciation =-.

  5. Alex Fayle says:

    @Carol
    Thanks! And I look forward to seeing you cheer them on. 😉

  6. I can relate to all three of these lab rats! Can’t wait to see them find their way through the maze 🙂
    .-= Melodee Patterson´s last blog ..Name My Company Contest! =-.

  7. Alex Fayle says:

    @Melodee
    I too see bits of me in all of them. We will both get something out of their responses then, I’m sure!

  8. […] week I introduced you to Helen, John and Michelle, three of the six new Lab Rats. While I did that the other three patiently waited their turn for […]

Comments are closed.

